Jeron Johnson Named to 2010 Jim Thorpe Preseason Watch List

OKLAHOMA CITY - Senior Jeron Johnson has been named to The 2010 Jim Thorpe Award preseason "watch list" which includes 35 of the nation's best defensive backs as the leading candidates for this year's trophy.

Johnson (Compton, Calif.) earned second-team All-WAC honors last season after leading the Broncos in tackles for the second consecutive season with 91 tackles, 54 unassisted. He was second on the team with four interceptions, and recorded 1.5 tackles for loss and six pass breakups. Johnson finished ranked sixth in the Western Athletic Conference in interceptions, eighth in passes defended and 16th for average tackles per game with 6.5. He finished the regular season with three consecutive games of double-digit tackles, recording a season-high 14 (nine unassisted) against Utah State.

The Thorpe Award is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards.  It is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back.  Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as "The Legend", Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon. 

The Jim Thorpe Award "watch list" is determined by analysis of the pre-season All-American teams listed in at least six pre-season college football annual magazines.  Four points are awarded for first team, three points for second team, two points for third and one point for honorable mentions.  This procedure determines approximately 30-40 players on the pre-season watch list.  This list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.

A "Screening Committee" of Jim Thorpe Association members follows these players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade Thorpe Award candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character.  The committee meets on the first Monday in November to narrow the field to 10 or 12 semi-finalists.

The committee meets again on the Monday before Thanksgiving to select the three finalists.  The names of these finalists are submitted to a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players who vote to determine the winner.  The three finalists are invited to the ESPN College Football Awards Show, and the winner is announced during the show.

Formal presentation of the Jim Thorpe Award takes place at ceremonies in Oklahoma City on the first Tuesday in February following the national signing date for college football recruits.

National College Football Awards Association

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).  The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards.  The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.  For more information, visit the association's official Web site,

2010 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List:

Prince Amukamara - CB - Nebraska                     Duke Ihenacho - S - San Jose State

Mark Barron - S - Alabama                                  Jaiquwn Jarrett - S - Temple

Brandon  Boykin - CB - Georgia                           Janoris Jenkins - CB - Florida

Curtis Brown - CB - Texas                                   Jeron Johnson - S - Boise State

Kendric Burney - CB - North Carolina                    Tejay Johnson - S - TCU

Brandon Burton - CB - Utah                                  Shiloh Keo - S - Idaho

Rashad Carmichael - CB - Virginia Tech                Brian Lainhart - S - Kent State

Quinton Carter - S - Oklahoma                              DeAndre McDaniel - S - Clemson

Chimdi Chekwa - CB - Ohio State                          Rahim Moore - S - UCLA

Don Decicco - S - Pittsburgh                                 Johnny Patrick - CB - Louisville

Ras-1 Dowling - CB - Virginia                                Patrick Peterson - CB - LSU

Blake Gideon - S - Texas                                     Tyler Sash - S - Iowa

Stephen Gilmore - CB - South Carolina                  Robert Sands - S - West Virginia

Brandon Harris - CB - Miami                                 Jimmy Smith - CB - Colorado

Will Hill - S - Florida                                             Trevin Wade - CB - Arizona

Jermale Hines - S - Ohio State                              Deunta Williams - S - North Carolina

Brandon Hogan - CB - West Virginia                      Aaron Williams - CB - Texas

Davon House - CB - New Mexico State

» «