Boise State Headlines MW Predictions, Preseason Team
July 28, 2015

2015 MW Order Of Finish Get Acrobat Reader

2015 Preseason All-MW Team Get Acrobat Reader

LAS VEGAS – Boise State topped the Mountain West’s predicted order of finish for the Mountain Division and led all programs with six selections to the Preseason All-Conference Team, the conference announced Tuesday morning at the start of Mountain West Football Media Days at The Cosmopolitan Hotel.

Both the predicted order of finish and the 25-man preseason all-conference team were voted by members of the media covering the 12 programs.

The Broncos received 28 of the 30 first-place votes and a total of 177 points to top all Mountain Division teams and mark the fifth-straight year that the program topped the preseason Mountain West poll. The overall streak spans eight years including Boise State’s final three seasons in the WAC (2008-10). Utah State received the remaining two first-place votes and was second with 150 points. Colorado State (108), Air Force (90), Wyoming (64) and New Mexico (41) rounded out the rest of the division.

San Diego State (27 first-place votes, 177 points) topped the West Division voting.

Boise State had a conference-best six members of the preseason all-conference team and topped the defensive side of the group with four selections. Junior STUD end Kamalei Correa, junior linebacker Tanner Vallejo, senior cornerback Donte Deayon and redshirt senior safety Darian Thompson represented the Broncos on the defense, while on offense a pair of redshirt seniors in center Marcus Henry and tackle Rees Odhiambo were tabbed.

All six Broncos are national preseason honors candidates, led by Thompson, who has been named to the watch lists of four major honors: Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Chuck Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Jim Thorpe Award. Correa is also on the watch lists for the Chuck Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy in addition to the Rotary Lombardi Award, on the latter of which he is joined by Henry, Odhiambo and Vallejo. Henry and Odhiambo are each on the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List, while Henry is also a candidate for the Rimington Trophy. Deayon is also on the Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List alongside Thompson.

The six Broncos were also each named to last year’s regular-season All-Mountain West Teams. Correa, Henry and Thompson each earned a spot on the first team while Deayon, Odhiambo, and Vallejo were each named to the second team.

2015 Mountain West Football Predicted Order Of Finish (first-place votes in parentheses)

Mountain Division
Boise State (28) – 177
Utah State (2) – 150
Colorado State – 108
Air Force – 90
Wyoming – 64
New Mexico – 41

West Division
San Diego State (27) – 177
Fresno State (3) – 141
Nevada – 113
San Jose State – 91
Hawai’i – 70
UNLV – 38

2015 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team

QB Chuckie Keeton (Utah State)
WR Rashard Higgins (Colorado State)
WR Devonte Boyd (UNLV)
RB Donnel Pumphrey (San Diego State)
RB Marteze Waller (Fresno State)
OL Marcus Henry (Boise State)
OL Rees Odhiambo (Boise State)
OL Alex Fifita (Fresno State)
OL Ben Clarke (Hawai’i)
OL Pearce Slater (San Diego State)
TE Steven Walker (Colorado State)

DL Alex Hansen (Air Force)
DL Kamalei Correa (Boise State)
DL Ian Seau (Nevada)
DL Eddie Yarbrough (Wyoming)
LB Tanner Vallejo (Boise State)
LB Kyler Fackrell (Utah State)
LB Nick Vigil (Utah State)
DB Weston Steelhammer (Air Force)
DB Donte Deayon (Boise State)
DB Darian Thompson (Boise State)
DB Damontae Kazee (San Diego State)

Special Teams
P Alex Boy (Nevada)
PK Donny Hageman (San Diego State)
Ret. Carlos Wiggins (New Mexico)

» «