Broncos Picked to Win MW in 2012
LAS VEGAS – The Boise State football team was selected as the preseason favorite to win the Mountain West in 2012, the league announced at its annual media days Tuesday.

In a poll of media members who cover the league, Boise State received 27 of a possible 30 first-place votes. The 296 total points were 52 points clear of second-place Nevada (244).

The Broncos have been picked to win their league in the preseason poll in five-straight years, winning four conference championships during that time.

The complete media poll can be found below:

1. Boise State (27) 296
2. Nevada 244
3. Fresno State (2) 231
4. Wyoming 213
5. San Diego State (1) 173
6. Air Force 170
7. Hawai'i 116
8. Colorado State 111
9. UNLV 63
10. New Mexico 33

A league-leading five Broncos were honored with preseason All-Mountain West accolades, including redshirt senior wide receiver Mitch Burroughs, who was named the Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year.

Burroughs ranked first in the MW and eighth-nationally in punt returns last season, averaging 13.3 yards on 18 returns.

Redshirt senior offensive lineman Joe Kellogg and redshirt sophomore wide receiver Matt Miller garnered preseason all-conference honors on offense, and redshirt senior defensive tackle Mike Atkinson and redshirt senior cornerback Jamar Taylor represented the Broncos on the defensive team.

Boise State also led the MW with seven preseason all-conference selections in 2011.

» «