Hedrick Named to O'Brien Award Watch List

July 16, 2014

FORT WORTH, Texas - Boise State redshirt senior quarterback Grant Hedrick has been named to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, given annually to the nation's top quarterback.

Hedrick is one of four quarterbacks from the Mountain West on the 39-member Watch List.

Hedrick started five of the Broncos' final six games of 2013, and missed only one series during that time. He completed 167-of-242 passes for 1,825 yards, 16 touchdowns and five interceptions on the season.

His completion percentage (.690) ranked fifth-nationally in 2013, and his efficiency rating (150.0) ranked 23rd-nationally.

Hedrick averaged 22.1 completions per game once stepping in as the starter, a mark that would have ranked 16th-nationally were it extrapolated over the entire season.

Despite starting less than half the Broncos' games, he also finished as the team's second-leading rusher (277), and rushed for six touchdowns.

The field of quarterbacks will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists Nov. 3, and the three finalists will be announced, Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, Dec. 11.

A complete list of Boise State's Preseason Watch List honorees can be found below:

Paul Hornung Award - Shane Williams-Rhodes
Maxwell Award - Jay Ajayi
Lou Groza Award - Dan Goodale
Thorpe Award - Donte Deayon and Jeremy Ioane
Biletnikoff Award - Matt Miller
Davey O'Brien Award - Grant Hedrick

The Broncos are entering their first season under head coach Bryan Harsin, a former Bronco quarterback (1995-99) who also served on the coaching staff from 2001-10. With Harsin as offensive coordinator from 2006-10, Boise State went 61-5, including undefeated seasons in 2006 (13-0) and 2009 (14-0). The Broncos scored 2,733 points during that time, the most in the country.

To purchase season tickets for the 2014 season, contact the Boise State Athletic Ticket Office at (208) 426-4737, or CLICK HERE.

» «