Deayon, Ioane Named to Thorpe Award Watch List

July 11, 2014

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Boise State junior cornerback Donte Deayon and redshirt senior safety Jeremy Ioane were each named to the 2014 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, awarded annually to the nation's top defensive back.

Boise State is one of only five schools with multiple players named to the Thorpe Award Watch List, a group that also includes Arkansas State, Florida State, Michigan State and UCF.

Deayon and Ioane are two of the five representatives on the Watch List from the Mountain West.

Deayon was named second-team All-MW in 2013 after leading Boise State with six interceptions, a mark that also ranked tied for seventh-nationally. He started each of the team's 13 games, recording 54 tackles (40 solo). His 0.5 interceptions per game ranked tied for ninth-nationally and second in the MW. He also tied for the team high with nine pass break-ups, giving him an average of 1.2 passes defended per game (tied for 32nd-nationally).

Ioane was also named second-team All-MW in 2013, starting each of his 12 games played. He recorded 59 tackles (40 solo) on the season, the fifth-most on the team. He had multiple tackles in every game, and was also the Broncos' second-leading tackler in 2012 (70).

Deayon and Ioane are two of only three defensive backs returning from last year's All-MW First or Second Teams in 2014.

The winner of the Thorpe Award will be selected from three finalists, and will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, Dec. 11.

The Broncos are entering their first season under head coach Bryan Harsin, a former Bronco quarterback (1995-99) who also served on the coaching staff from 2001-10. With Harsin as offensive coordinator from 2006-10, Boise State went 61-5, including undefeated seasons in 2006 (13-0) and 2009 (14-0). The Broncos scored 2,733 points during that time, the most in the country.

To purchase season tickets for the 2014 season, contact the Boise State Athletic Ticket Office at (208) 426-4737, or visit

» «