Athlon Sports Includes 11 Broncos on Preseason All-MW Teams

July 10, 2014

BOISE, Idaho - Eleven Broncos were included on Athlon Sports' 2014 Preseason All-Mountain West Teams, the magazine announced recently.

Included were five Broncos named to the first team: on offense, running back Jay Ajayi and wide receiver Matt Miller; on defense, cornerback Donte Deayon and safety Jeremy Ioane; and on special teams, punt returner Shane Williams-Rhodes.

Offensive tackle Rees Odhiambo and linebacker Ben Weaver were each named to the magazine's Preseason All-MW Second Team, while defensive end Gabe Perez, defensive tackle Armand Nance and safety Darian Thompson were each named third team.

Bryan Douglas was also named to the third team as a kick return specialist.

The Broncos are entering their first season under head coach Bryan Harsin, a former Bronco quarterback (1995-99) who also served on the coaching staff from 2001-10. With Harsin as offensive coordinator from 2006-10, Boise State went 61-5, including undefeated seasons in 2006 (13-0) and 2009 (14-0). The Broncos scored 2,733 points during that time, the most in the country.

To purchase season tickets for the 2014 season, contact the Boise State Athletic Ticket Office at (208) 426-4737, or visit

» «