Correa, Thompson Named to Bednarik Watch List
July 7, 2015

  • 2015 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List

    BOISE, Idaho – Boise State redshirt senior safety Darian Thompson and junior STUD end Kamalei Correa were each named to the preseason watch list for the Bednarik Award, given annually to the College Defensive Player of the Year, the Maxwell Football Club announced Tuesday.

    Billy Winn, entering his fourth year with the Cleveland Browns, was the last Bronco to be named to the Bednarik Award Watch List, garnering the accolade in 2011.

    Of the 80 individuals on the 2015 watch list, Thompson and Correa were two of just four from the Mountain West. Additionally, Boise State was one of 25 schools to place multiple individuals on the watch list.

    The Bednarik Award, presented annually since 1995, is named after Chuck Bednarik, a standout at Penn and for the Philadelphia Eagles, and a member of both the College Football and National Football League Halls of Fame.

    Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 2, and three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 23. The winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, held Dec. 10. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 11, 2016.

    Last year’s Bednarik Award was given to Arizona’s Scooby Wright.

    A first-team All-Mountain West selection and a second-team All-American ( in 2014, Thompson started each of his 13 games played last season. He hauled in seven interceptions, tied for the third-most nationally and tied for the most in the MW, giving him 14 for his career – tied for the sixth most in school history.

    Correa was also a first-team All-MW selection in 2014 after leading the league in sacks (12.0) and ranking 13th nationally in sacks per game (0.86). He started each of the team’s 14 games, racking up 19.0 tackles-for-loss. The total ranked third in the MW, and his 1.4 TFLs per game were tied for 18th nationally.

    The Broncos have now placed four individuals on preseason watch lists for 2015. Senior wide receiver Shane Williams-Rhodes was named to the Paul Hornung Award Preseason Watch List Monday, given annually to the nation’s most versatile player, while in May, redshirt senior center Marcus Henry was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List, given annually to the nation's top center.

  • » «