Three Broncos Named to National Award Watch Lists
BOISE, Idaho – Boise State’s Doug Martin and Kellen Moore were named to the 75th Annual Maxwell Award Watch List, and Billy Winn was named to the 17th Annual Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced Tuesday.

The Maxwell Award is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding collegiate football player, while the Bednarik Award is presented to the nation’s top defensive player.

Martin, a redshirt senior running back from Stockton, Calif., recorded 201 carries en route to a career-high 1,260 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns for the Broncos last season. A 13-game starter in 2010, Martin also recorded a career-best 28 receptions for 338 yards and two scores.

Moore, a redshirt senior quarterback from Prosser, Wash., enters 2011 as the nation's active career leader in passing efficiency (166.74) and wins by a quarterback (38), while ranking second on the active career list in completion percentage (68.17), passing yards (10,867), passing touchdowns (99) and completions (831). Last season, Moore completed 273-of-383 passes for 3,845 yards, 35 touchdowns and six interceptions for a national-best pass efficiency of 182.63.

Winn, a redshirt senior defensive tackle from Las Vegas, Nev., registered 28 tackles, including 9.5 tackles-for-loss in the Broncos' 2010 campaign. Winn also posted four sacks last season.

Moore and Martin are two of five student-athletes from the Mountain West Conference on the 66-player Maxwell Award Watch List, and Winn is one of three student-athletes from the MWC on the 65-player Bednarik Award Watch List.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 31, and the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winners will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held Dec. 8. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City of Mar. 2, 2012.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2011 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches, and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

» «