BOISE, Idaho Nominees for the 2007 ESPYs Awards were announced today (June 25) and the Boise State University football team has been nominated in the categories of “Best Game and Best Play”.

            The 15th annual awards show, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel and LeBron James, will be broadcast on July 15 (Sunday) at 7:00 p.m. (MT) by ESPN.  The show will be taped on July 11 (Wednesday) at Hollywood’s Kodak Theatre. 

            This is the first time a team or student-athlete from Boise State has been nominated for an ESPY award, which celebrates the top moments, most emotional stories and best performances from the past year in sports.

            In the category of “Best Game”, the Bronco football team is nominated for its 43-42 overtime win over the University of Oklahoma in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.  Boise State is up against this past year’s AFC Championship game when the Indianapolis Colts came from behind to defeat the New England Patroits, and Oklahoma State University’s 105-103 overtime victory over the University of Texas in men’s basketball.

            Boise State is one of five nominees for the “Best Play” award.  The Broncos were nominated for its winning two-point conversion in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.  Boise State head coach Chris Petersen called for the “Statue of Liberty” play where quarterback Jared Zabransky handed the ball off behind his back to running back Ian Johnson who went untouched into the end zone for the historic win.

            Other nominations include Travis Pastrana, who successfully completed the first double back flip in motocross at the ESPN X Games; Darrelle Revi’s 73-yard punt return for the University of Pittsburgh; New York Met’s Endy Chavez robbing a home run off the bat of the St. Louis Cardinal’s Scott Rolen in game seven of the NLCS; and Dwyane Wade’s wild off the glass shot in the Miami Heat’s 104-101 win over the Indiana Pacers.

            For the fourth consecutive year, fans will determine the winners in all contested categories, by voting June 25 through 11:59 p.m. (ET) on July 7 (Saturday).  Fans can vote by going to the web site, or find the same link on Boise State’s web site at

» «