Boise State All Over Phil Steele's All-MW Teams
June 1, 2015

  • 2015 Preseason Phil Steele All-MW Teams Get Acrobat Reader

    BOISE, Idaho - Nineteen members of the Boise State football team, including all five returning starting offensive linemen from a year ago, were among the selections to Phil Steele's 2015 Preseason All- Mountain West Teams Monday.

    Redshirt seniors center Marcus Henry and tackle Rees Odhiambo, members of the All-MW First and Second Teams, respectively, in 2014, both found a spot on Steele's first team. Redshirt junior guards Travis Averill and Mario Yakoo came in on the second and fourth teams, respectively, while redshirt junior tackle Stephen Baggett landed on the third team.

    Boise State's vaunted defense, which returns nine starters in 2015, featured four All-MW performers from a year ago on Steele's first team. All-America safety Darian Thompson, who led the Mountain West with eight interceptions a season ago, was joined in the first team's secondary by senior cornerback Donte Deayon (seven interceptions in 2014) while, up front, junior STUD end Kamalei Correa (Mountain West-best 12.0 sacks, third with 19.0 tackles-for-loss in 2014) and junior linebacker Tanner Vallejo (team-high 100 tackles, fifth in the Mountain West with 16.5 TFL) were also recognized. Deayon also earned a spot on the fourth team as a punt returner.

    Three of Boise State's top receivers from a season ago were also selected, as wideouts junior Thomas Sperbeck (51 receptions, team-high 877 yards, three touchdowns) and senior Shane Williams-Rhodes (team-best 68 catches for 585 yards and team-leading seven touchdowns) landed on the third and fourth teams, respectively, while redshirt sophomore tight end Jake Roh (35 receptions, 408 yards), an All-MW honorable mention in 2014, was named to Steele's third team.

    Back on the defensive side, redshirt junior linebacker Ben Weaver (62 tackles, 2.0 sacks) earned a third-team spot and senior defensive tackle Armand Nance (36 tackles, 2.0 sacks, 6.0 TFL) was named to the fourth team.

    Boise State's specialists also received some recognition, as redshirt punter Sean Wale (42.0 yards per punt) and sophomore kick returner Jeremy McNichols (20.7 yards per return) were named to Steele's third team. Redshirt junior kicker Tyler Rausa, part of a group aiming to replace the graduated Dan Goodale, was named to the fourth team.

    A pair of Broncos who will make their debut for the program in 2015 were also recognized, as redshirt senior defensive tackle Tutulupeatau Mataele and graduate transfer running back Kelsey Young, who joined Boise State from Stanford, were each named to the third team.

  • » «