Phil Steele Tabs Three Broncos to Preseason All-America Team
BOISE, Idaho – The Boise State football team placed three student-athletes on Phil Steele’s 2011 Preseason All-America Teams, and 19 on the Preseason All-Mountain West Conference Teams.

Offensively, redshirt senior offensive tackle Nate Potter was named to Phil Steele’s All-America First Team, and redshirt senior quarterback Kellen Moore was named third-team Preseason All-America. Each was also one of five offensive players for the Broncos to garner first-team Preseason All-MWC honors.

Redshirt senior defensive tackle Billy Winn was named second-team Preseason All-America, and was one of three Bronco defensive players named to the Preseason All-MWC First Team.

Nine Broncos were named to the Preseason All-MWC First Team, represented on offense by Moore, Potter, redshirt senior running back Doug Martin, redshirt senior wide receiver Tyler Shoemaker and redshirt senior center Thomas Byrd. Defensively, Winn, senior defensive end Shea McClellin and senior safety George Iloka also earned first-team accolades. On special teams, redshirt junior Chris Potter was named first-team all-conference at punt returner.

Redshirt junior offensive guard Joe Kellogg and senior defensive tackle Chase Baker were each named second-team Preseason All-MWC.

Broncos on the Preseason All-MWC Third Team include redshirt senior tight end Kyle Efaw, senior linebacker Byron Hout, redshirt senior linebacker Aaron Tevis, redshirt senior nickel Hunter White, redshirt junior cornerback Jamar Taylor and redshirt freshman safety Jeremy Ioane.

Rounding out the honors for Boise State were redshirt junior wide receiver Mitch Burroughs, who garnered fourth-team accolades at punt returner, and senior Tyrone Crawford, who garnered fourth-team honors at defensive end.

In all, Boise State boasted seven offensive players, 10 defensive players and two special teams players on the Preseason All-MWC Teams.

Boise State is slated to open the 2011 season against Georgia in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, Sept. 3. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. (MT) at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga., and the game will be televised by ESPN.

» «