Potter Named to 2012 Hampshire Honor Society
DALLAS, Texas – Former Boise State University football player Nate Potter has been named to the 2012 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF announced recently.

The Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions that maintained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.2-or-higher throughout their collegiate careers. To qualify, an individual must also be a starter or significant contributor in his last year of eligibility and meet all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

“The growing number of students involved in the Hampshire Honor Society each year shows that football student-athletes not only play at the highest level but that they are some of the best students on campus as well,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We salute each one of these young men for their commitment to education and their leadership on and off the football field.”

Potter, one of the Broncos’ school-record six National Football League Draft selections this past weekend (Arizona Cardinals), was a consensus All-American following his senior season in 2011, and was also named Capital One Academic All-America First Team, the first Boise State football player to earn the honor since 1978. Potter started 43 of his 51 games played, including each of his final 34 at left tackle.

He was a three-time first-team all-conference honoree, including one of only two unanimous All-Mountain West selections in 2011. Boise State led the nation in sacks allowed in 2011, allowing just 0.62 per game. The team ranked third-nationally in the statistical category in 2010 (0.62), and allowed the fewest sacks in the country during his sophomore season (five).

Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 16 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Additionally, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Campbell Trophy, claimed by Army linebacker Andrew Rodriguez in 2011, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through its chapter network, the NFF also awards an additional $1 million to local high school student-athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship distribution total to more than $1.3 million.


» «