Broncos Return Home to Face Eagles

The Boise State men’s basketball team (3-0) returns to Taco Bell Arena this week, playing host to Eastern Washington and Denver.

Tip-off against the Eagles (1-2) is scheduled for Wednesday (Nov. 24) at 7:05 p.m.

The Broncos close this week’s action against the Pioneers (0-4) Saturday (Nov. 27) at 7:05 p.m.

Boise State’s 3-0 start in 2010-11 marks the first time since the 2003-04 season the team has won its first two games.  The Broncos are looking for their first 4-0 start since 1998-99.

The Broncos hold a 31-6 advantage over the Eagles in a series that dates back to the 1968-69 season. Boise State has won each of the last four meetings.


Boise State is 220-182 (.547) against teams currently in the Big Sky Conference, a league in which the Broncos held membership from 1970-96. Boise State went 190-187 during its 26 years in the league, including a mark of 16-2 against the Eagles when both teams were members of the conference.

Leon Rice, in his debut season after being named the seventh head coach in school history, is off to the best start of any head coach since Boise State became a four-year institution prior to the 1968-69 season. No other coach won his first three games at the helm of the program.

Rice joins the Broncos after spending the last 11 seasons on the coaching staff at Gonzaga. He had served as the associate head coach with the Bulldogs since 2007.


Bob Behler is in his third season as the “Voice of the Broncos,” and his 25th calling college basketball games. Joining Behler, and also in his third season, is former Bronco Abe Jackson, who played for Boise State from 1998-2002.

All Bronco games will be broadcast on the Bronco Radio Network, with KBOI 670 AM serving as the flagship station. Games can also be heard live at

Boise State swept its two-game road trip in California last week, coming back from halftime deficits in each game to knock off San Diego (65-60; Nov. 19) and UC Davis (67-47; Nov. 21). The Broncos were down five and two at halftime against the Toreros and Aggies, respectively.

» «