Boise State Added to 2013 Diamond Head Classic
Courtesy: Boise State

March 26, 2013

HONOLULU - Boise State will join the 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic field which includes tournament host Hawai'i, George Mason, Iowa State, Saint Mary's, Oregon State and South Carolina. The tournament is set to be played Dec. 22, 23 and 25 (Sunday, Monday and Wednesday), at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.

The Broncos closed the 2012-13 regular season with a 21-10 record and earned the first at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament in school history. It is the fourth postseason appearance for Boise State in the past six seasons, including the second trip to the NCAA Tournament.

Five of the seven teams in the 2013 field have qualified for the postseason this year, including the Broncos, Hawai'i (CIT), George Mason (CBI), Iowa State (NCAA) and Saint Mary's (NCAA). The eighth and final team in the tournament field will be announced at a later date.

Boise State head coach Leon Rice took over the program in 2010-11, and this year became the first head coach in school history to win at least 20 games in two of his first three seasons. He notched his 50th-career win in just his 86th game, the fastest Bronco head man to reach the milestone since the school joined Division I for the 1970-71 season.

This will be Boise State's first appearance in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic.

"This has historically been a great tournament with outstanding teams and provides a phenomenal opportunity for national exposure," said Rice.

It will be the first major preseason tournament appearance for the Broncos since the 2000 Pearl Harbor Classic.

Tournament Information
The 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

The University of Southern California won the inaugural tournament in 2009, Butler in 2010, followed by Kansas State in 2011 and Arizona in 2012.

Travel information
The family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Honolulu will host the teams to three days of play, practices and the unique spirit of Aloha from the Hawaiian Islands. Teams will also have the opportunity to attend the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl played during the same week. Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic Web site at

» «