Hutchison a First-Team NABC Selection
March 13, 2018

2018 NABC All-District Teams Get Acrobat Reader

BOISE, Idaho – Chandler Hutchison received another postseason honor Tuesday, as he was named a National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District 17 First-Team selection for the second-straight season. He becomes the first two-time honoree in program history with the news.

The award is the latest in what has been a string of accolades for the senior guard, as he was named to the All-Mountain West First Team and Mountain West All-Defensive Team early last week, along with also receiving his second-straight nod to the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VIII Team.

The All-MW honor made him the fifth Bronco in program history to earn consecutive first-team league nods, joining Chris Childs (1987-89), Tanoka Beard (1991-93), John Coker (1994-95) and Roberto Bergersen (1998-99).

The USBWA distinction was similar to today’s NABC honor in that it made him the only player in school history to earn USBWA All-District honors in two different seasons. Hutchison did it in back-to-back seasons.

The recognition from the NABC makes him the fourth Bronco to earn first-team honors, joining James Webb III (2016), Derrick Marks (2015) and Reggie Larry (2008). There has been a Boise State first or second-team player in five straight seasons as Anthony Drmic earned a second-team nod in 2014.

Hutchison and Jahad Thomas (UMass Lowell) are currently the only two players in NCAA Division I to average at least 19.0 points, 7.5 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.0 steals per game. If Hutchison were to complete the season with those same minimum averages, he would become just the fourth player in NCAA Division I since the 2009-10 season to accomplish the feat, joining the likes of Evan Turner (Ohio State; 2009-10), Ben Simmons (LSU; 2015-16) and Denzel Valentine (LSU; 2015-16).

If Hutchison is to finish the season leading his team in points, rebounds, assists and steals, he would become just the fifth player in Mountain West history to accomplish the feat since the 2011-12 season – Boise State’s first season in the conference. He would join the likes of Jamaal Franklin (San Diego State; 2012-13), Marvelle Harris (Fresno State; 2014-15), Josh Adams (Wyoming; 2015-16) and Jaron Hopkins (Fresno State; 2016-17).

No. 4 seed Boise State will take on No. 5 seed Washington Wednesday night in Seattle at Alaska Airlines Arena. The game will tip at 8 p.m. MT and broadcast on ESPN3.

» «