Drmic Earns All-District Recognition

March 11, 2014


Boise State junior Anthony Drmic was named to the All-District VIII Team by the United States Basketball Writers Association, the group announced Tuesday. Drmic is the third Bronco in the past decade to earn the distinction.

Drmic finished the regular season averaging a team-high 16.7 points per game and 4.7 rebounds per game. He is shooting 44.9 percent from the floor and 36.1 percent from three-point range, making 61 triples (2.1 per game).

He is the first Bronco to earn the honor since Reggie Larry was named All-District as a senior, following the 2007-08 season. Drmic is the first Bronco junior to be named to the team since Coby Karl in 2005-06.

District VIII is comprised of the Division I schools in Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. Eight schools were represented in District VIII, with Colorado and New Mexico each boasting two honorees. The teams are selected based on voting by the USBWA’s membership of more than 900 members.

A complete list of the District VIII team is below.

USBWA All-District VIII Team (Wyo., Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada, Montana)
Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico (Player of the Year)
Daniel Bejarano, Colorado State
Askia Booker, Colorado
Deonte Burton, Nevada
Anthony Drmic, Boise State
Tyler Haws, BYU
Stephen Madison, Idaho
Josh Scott, Colorado
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Delon Wright, Utah
Coach of the Year: Craig Neal, New Mexico

» «