Broncos Clean Up MW Awards
March 10, 2015

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Boise State senior guard Derrick Marks was named Mountain West Player of the Year, headlining a historic postseason awards haul for Boise State. Head coach Leon Rice took home MW Coach of the Year honors and redshirt sophomore forward James Webb III earned Newcomer of the Year. The awards were voted on by the 11 Mountain West men's basketball head coaches.

Marks was named to the All-MW First Team and Webb was a second-team selection. Webb was also tabbed to the MW All-Defensive Team.

Boise State went 14-4 in Mountain West play, winning 14 of the final 15 games to win a share of the conference title. The Broncos tied atop the league standings with San Diego State, and earned the No. 1 seed in the MW Championship by virtue of their season sweep against the Aztecs.

In a separate vote conducted by media members from the conference's 11 markets, Marks, Rice and Webb earned the same honors. Marks was the unanimous MW Player of the Year in the media vote, landing on the first team. Webb was second team in addition to the Newcomer of the Year award and Rice earned Coach of the Year.

Derrick Marks - MW Player of the Year | All-MW First Team
Marks became the fourth Bronco in school history to earn conference player of the year honors and the first since Roberto Bergersen was the 1999 Big West Player of the Year. Marks is also the first Bronco to earn All-Mountain West First Team recognition since Boise State joined the conference in 2011-12.

The senior averaged 21.3 points per game in Mountain West games to lead the league. It is the fourth-highest single-season scoring average in conference history. Marks scored in double figures each of the final 17 games, including eight 20-point outings and four with at least 30 points. The prolific scoring came while shooting 49.8 percent from the field and 40.6 percent from three-point range. He added 3.4 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.1 steals per game.

Three of Marks' league-high four MW Player of the Week awards came during the conference season.

In addition to Bergersen's Big West MVP, Arnell Jones (1988) and Chris Childs (1989) were named Big Sky Player of the Year to round out Boise State's contingent of league players of the year.

James Webb III - MW Newcomer of the Year | All-MW Second Team | All-Defensive Team
Webb, who redshirted last season after transferring from North Idaho College, broke out just before conference play started. Once the Mountain West slate began, he was a full-fledged star. Webb averaged 12.9 points and nine rebounds per game in conference play on his way to becoming Boise State's third conference newcomer of the year and first since 1996.

Webb scored in double figures 13 times during the conference season. He shot 44.9 percent from three-point range (third-best in the MW) and 65.4 percent inside the arc, taking exactly half of his shots from each area of the floor. Webb's nine rebounds per outing ranked third in the conference and he recorded six of his eight double-doubles in league games.

Previously, Arnell Jones (1987) and Joe Wyatt (1996) were named Big Sky Newcomer of the Year. Jones and Wyatt were each named first-team all-conference the following season, with Jones becoming the first Bronco to be named conference player of the year.

The newcomer of the year award is open to non-freshmen who are competing in the Mountain West for the first time.

Webb is the first Bronco to earn a spot on the MW All-Defensive Team since the Broncos joined the conference. He was second in the league with seven defensive rebounds per game, while ranking eighth with 1.4 steals per game. He also blocked 15 shots in conference play.

In Mountain West play, Boise State outscored its opponents by 211 points while Webb was on the floor, the largest margin of any Bronco. Opponents averaged just 56.9 points per 40 minutes with Webb on the court, while Boise State averaged 71.7.

While in the Western Athletic Conference, seven Broncos were named to the all-defensive team. La'Shard Anderson (2011) was the most recent selection. Jason Ellis (2004 and 2005) is the only two-time selection in school history.

Webb's all-conference selection makes it three consecutive years Boise State has been represented on the second team. Anthony Drmic was a second-team choice each of the last two seasons, with Marks joining him in 2013 and Ryan Watkins also making the team last season.

Leon Rice - MW Coach of the Year
Rice earned his first MW Coach of the Year award after leading the Broncos to 14 wins in the final 15 games to overcome a 0-3 start and claim Boise State's first MW title. It is the school's first league championship in men's basketball since 2007-08 (Western Athletic Conference), which is the last time a Bronco was named coach of the year (Greg Graham).

Rice, in his fifth year, guided the Broncos to a school-record 14 conference wins. Boise State won six road games in MW play, including the school's first all-time victories at New Mexico, San Diego State, UNLV and Utah State.

The Broncos didn't just win, they won in convincing fashion most nights. Boise State led the conference with an average scoring margin of +10.9. That is tied for the fourth-largest margin in Mountain West history. The Broncos won nine league games by double digits, including both meetings with regular season co-champion San Diego State.

Before Graham in 2008, Bobby Dye won Big Sky Coach of the Year three times and Bus Connor earned the honor once. Dye picked up the award in 1987, 1988 and 1993. Connor was voted coach of the year in 1976.

» «