Graham named WAC Coach of the Year, Larry and Nelson earn all-conference honors

BOISE, Idaho Boise State head coach Greg Graham was named the Don Haskins Coach of the Year in a vote of the Western Athletic Conference coaches, while three members of the Bronco team were named to one of the all-league teams.

Senior Reggie Larry earned first-team All-WAC honors, while senior Matt Nelson was a second-team all-league pick.  Senior Matt Bauscher was named to the WAC All-Defensive Team.

Larry (Newark, N.J./College of Southern Idaho) earned first-team All-WAC honors after averaging 18.9 points and 9.2 rebounds per game. He became the first Boise State player to ever score 1,000-career points while playing only two seasons for the Broncos.  Larry led the WAC in rebounding, while finishing third in scoring.  He also ranked among the league’s leaders in field goal percentage (seventh), 3-point field goal percentage (sixth), steals (fifth), blocked shots (fifth), defensive rebounds (first) and offensive rebounds (sixth).  Larry is the third Boise State player to be named first-team All-WAC, joining Aaron Haynes (2004) and Coby Karl (2007).  

Nelson (Issaquah, Wash./Eastern Washington) claimed second-team all-league recognition after averaging 16.6 points and 7.4 rebounds per game.  He finished second in the WAC in rebounding and eighth in scoring.  Nelson also finished third in field goal percentage, third in defensive rebounds and fifth in offensive rebounds.  He is the third Bronco player selected as a second-team All-WAC pick, joining Abe Jackson (2002) and Coby Karl (2006).  Both Nelson and Larry were named the WAC All-Newcomer Team last season.

Bauscher (Caldwell, Idaho/Spokane CC) earned a spot on the WAC All-Defensive Team after being tasked with guarding Boise State’s opponents’ best perimeter player in most games.  He is the fourth Bronco named to the WAC All-Defensive Team, joining Jason Ellis (2004 and 2005) and Eric Lane (2007).

Graham earned the WAC Coach of the Year honor after leading Boise State to a 22-8 record and a share of the WAC regular season title with a 12-4 record.  He is just the third different Bronco coach to win coach of the year honors, joining Bobby Dye (Big Sky Coach of the Year 1993, 1988, 1987) and Bus Connor (1976).   

» «