Webb, Thompson Voted All-MW by Coaches
March 8, 2016

LAS VEGAS - James Webb III and Mikey Thompson were voted All-Mountain West by the conference’s 11 head coaches, the league announced Tuesday. Webb was selected to the first team, while Thompson earned third-team honors.

Webb picked up the 27th first-team all-conference honor in program history, and became the 21st different Bronco to earn the distinction. He is the second first-team honoree for the Broncos since becoming a member of the Mountain West, joining last year’s league MVP Derrick Marks. It is the first time Boise State has had a first-team all-conference recipient in consecutive seasons since Coby Karl (2007) and Reggie Larry (2008) in the Western Athletic Conference.

During Mountain West play Webb, a redshirt junior, led the Broncos in scoring (16.1 per game), rebounding (9.8 per game) steals (1.6 per game) and blocks (0.7 per game). He tied for the conference lead with seven double-doubles in MW games. Last season the coaches selected Webb as the league’s Newcomer of the Year and second-team All-Mountain West.

Thompson was the only Bronco to start all 18 conference games. The senior finished MW play averaging 13.4 points, 3.4 assists, 3.2 rebounds. He scored in double figures in 12 of the 18 conference games, including two 20-point outings. Twice during MW play, Thompson registered at least nine assists and zero turnovers in a game. His 10-assist, zero-turnover game against New Mexico was the first by a Bronco in at least 30 years. This is the first season Thompson has earned all-conference recognition.

The Bronco duo earned the same recognition in a separate vote conducted by media that covers the league. The media’s All-MW teams were announced Sunday.

The media vote also tabbed Anthony Drmic as an honorable mention selection. Drmic will finish his career as one of the top five scorers in Mountain West history and the only player in the top 10 to not be named first-team all-conference during his career. Seven of the top 10 scorers in conference history were named Mountain West Player of the Year at least once, including Drmic’s former Bronco teammate Derrick Marks. Boise State and New Mexico are the only schools to have multiple student-athletes among the conference’s top 10 all-time scorers and Boise State is the only school with multiple 1,900-point scorers in Mountain West history.

Boise State opens its stay at the Mountain West Championship Thursday, in the quarterfinals. The Broncos will tip off at 8:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. MT against either No. 6 Colorado State or No. 11 San José State.

2015-16 All-Mountain West Awards
First Team
Josh Adams, Sr., G, Wyoming
Elijah Brown, So., G, New Mexico
Marvelle Harris, Sr., G, Fresno State
Trey Kell, So., G, San Diego State
James Webb III, Sr., F, Boise State

Second Team
Marqueze Coleman, Sr., G, Nevada
Patrick McCaw, So., G, UNLV
Antwan Scott, Sr., G, Colorado State
Winston Shepard, Sr., F, San Diego State
Tim Williams, Jr., F, New Mexico

Third Team
Jeremy Hemsley, Fr., G, San Diego State
Jalen Moore, Jr., W, Utah State
Cameron Oliver, Fr., F, Nevada
Chris Smith, Sr., G, Utah State
Mikey Thompson, Sr., G, Boise State

Defensive Team Marvelle Harris, Sr., G, Fresno State
Patrick McCaw, So., G, UNLV
Cameron Oliver, Fr., F, Nevada
Winston Shepard, Sr., F, San Diego State
Skylar Spencer, Sr., F, San Diego State

Honorable Mention Hayden Graham, Jr., F, Air Force
Jason McManamen, Jr., G, Wyoming

Player of the Year: Marvelle Harris, Sr., G, Fresno State
Defensive Player of the Year: Skylar Spencer, Sr., F, San Diego State
Freshman of the Year: Jeremy Hemsley, G, San Diego State
Newcomer of the Year: Elijah Brown, So., G, New Mexico
Sixth Man of the Year: Brandon Clarke, Fr., G, San José State
Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State

» «