Ostrander a Finalist for Honda Award
Nov. 24, 2015

Official Release Get Acrobat Reader

BOISE, Idaho –
Cross country freshman Allie Ostrander has been named one of the four nominees for the Honda Sport Award for cross country, as announced by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) on Tuesday. Ostrander joins New Mexico’s Courtney Frerichs, Dominique Scott of Arkansas and Notre Dame’s Molly Seidel.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 40 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. 

The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2016 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on June 27, 2016, in the Founders’ Room at the Galen Center on the campus of the University of Southern California in downtown Los, Angeles. The nominees were chosen from the top four finishes at the 2015 NCAA Cross Country Championship.

The Honda Sport award winner for cross country will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Ostrander – fresh off her runner-up performance at nationals – was the Broncos’ top runner in every meet this season. She was victorious at the Dual in Speedway Meadow, the Wisconsin adidas Invitational, the Mountain West Championship and the West Regional Championship.

She is the only freshman nominee (the other three are seniors) and she would be the first freshman to win the Honda Sport Award since 1985 when NC State’s Suzie Tuffey claimed the honor after winning the national championship.

The CWSA, celebrating its 40th year, has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.  Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.0 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.

» «