Broncos Head to 2010 NCAA West Region Championships

The Boise State cross country team will travel west to Springfield, Ore., to participate in the 2010 NCAA West Region Championships hosted by the University of Oregon. The meet is slated for Sat., Nov. 13 at the Springfield Country Club.

The University of Oregon plays host to this year's NCAA West Region Championships at the Springfield Country Club. The women's 6-kilometer race is set for a 9:45 a.m. (Pacific) start, while the men's 10-kilometer race is set for 10:45 a.m. (Pacific).


Most Recently: The Boise State men's cross country team is coming off of their first-ever WAC Cross Country title after picking up the team honor in Moscow, Idaho, on Oct. 30. The men were led by Sawyer Bosch who placed fourth, while the women were led to a fourth-place team finish by Emma Bates who was named WAC Freshman of the Year. Head track and field and cross country coach JW Hardy was named WAC Men's Coach of the Year.

Broncos in the Rankings: Only the Boise State men hold a top-15 West Region ranking, sitting at No. 10, their highest ranking of the season. The Bronco women have not moved into the West Region top-15 this season.

Broncos Making the Trip: The 2010 WAC men's team for Boise State includes: Brad Bogdan, Sawyer Bosch, Scott Foley, Kevin Higgs, Jeff Howard, Brian Pierre, Drew O'donoghue-McDonald and Allan Schroeder. Representing the Bronco women include: Emma Bates, Sarah Bisterfeldt, Alyssa Boucher, Carly Gerard, Kate Jette, Lauren Lucas, Erin McLaughlin and Tessa Murray.

2009 NCAA West Region Championships: In 2009 Boise State's men's cross country team competed in the team competition, placing 15th out of 26 teams with Jeff Howard leading the way with a 54th-place finish. For the women, only former Bronco Shannon Porter competed, finishing in 101st-place. This season will be the first since 2005 that the Boise State women will field a team at the NCAA West Region Championships.

Boise State will be one of approximately 40 schools represented at the 2010 NCAA West Region Championships. Many top-30 ranked teams will be competing in the races, including for the men's 10-kilometer race: No. 2 Stanford, No. 3 Oregon, No. 13 Portland and No. 22 California. On the women's side six national top-30 ranked teams will compete, including: No. 4 Stanford, No. 6 Arizona, No. 7 Oregon, No. 11 Washington, No. 26 California and No. 27 San Francisco.

This Championship event is FREE of charge. Spectator parking will be at the Mohawk Elementary School on Sunderman Road. Shuttle buses will then transport spectators to the course at the Springfield Country Club. Please allow sufficient time to use the park-and-ride shuttle.
To reach the Mohawk Elementary School:

  • Take 105E/126E and stay on 126E.
  • Take the 42nd Street/Marcola exit and make a left on 42nd street for 0.4 miles.
  • Make a right on Marcola for 5.5 miles, going 1 mile past the Springfield Country Club.
  • Turn right on Sunderman Road.
  • The Mohawk Elementary School will be on your right after ¼ mile.
Signs will be posted on the roads directing traffic to the park-and-ride lot at Mohawk Elementary School.

Full meet information and driving directions are available at:

NCAA rules for scoring will be followed. No more than seven (7) runners from each institution may participate. There will be no declarations at the course; each institution is responsible for sending only seven runners to the start line. All rules and regulations included in the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championship Handbook will be followed. The top two (2) teams will automatically qualify for the championship meet on November 22.

Results will be available at and at the conclusion of the meet.

» «