Broncos Headed to NCAA West Region Championships

► What's Happening - The Boise State cross country teams will head to Palo Alto, Calif., this weekend to compete at the 2011 NCAA West Region Championships hosted by Stanford University, Sat., Nov. 12 at the Stanford Golf Course.

NCAA West Region Meet Specifics - The 2011 NCAA West Region Championships will be held at the Stanford Golf Course on the campus of Stanford University in Palo Alto, Calif. The meet is slated for an 11:00 a.m. (MT) start for the men, while the women will race at 12:15 p.m. (MT). The men will cover  10-kilometer course, while the women will race over 6-kilometers.

Full meet information, including results, course maps and recaps can be found at:

Admission and Parking - Both admission and parking are free for the event. Parking is available for spectators in Parking Structure 5 (PS-5) at the corner of Stock Farm Road and Oak Road. Bus parking is available on Oak Road.

Weekly Rankings - Entering the week, Boise State's men sit at No. 12 in the USTFCCCA West Region rankings. Host school Stanford leads the west, while Portland ranks second and Oregon is third. For the women Boise State sit at No. 15, their first time entering a regional as a ranked team. The Washington women rank first in the region, followed by Stanford and Oregon in the No. 2 and 3 spots, respectively.  

A Look at the Competition - Boise State will be up against the top teams in the west region this weekend with the men sitting in a field of 27 teams and the women in a field of 34 teams. A handful of those teams on both the men's and women's sides rank in the nation's top-30. For the men Stanford sits at No. 6, Portland at No. 8, Oregon at No. 17 and UCLA at No. 21. On the women's side Washington ranks No. 6, Stanford at No. 8, Oregon at No. 11, Arizona is No. 16 and California and San Francisco round it out at No. 26 and No. 27, respectively.

Racing for the Broncos - The men's and women's teams will each field eight runners for the championships. The men include: Andrew Booth, Vince Hamilton, Kyle Merritt, Drew O'donoghue-McDonald, Dakota Parker, John Robinson and Allan Schroeder. The women include Emma Bates, Kate Jette, Lauren Lucas, Erin McLaughlin, Tessa Murray, Taryn Treadway and Marisa VanderMalle.

Scoring - NCAA rules for scoring will be followed. No more than seven (7) runners from each institution may participate. There will be no declarations at the course; each institution is responsible for sending only seven runners to the start line. All rules and regulations included in the 2011 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championship Handbook will be followed. The top two (2) teams will automatically qualify for the championship meet on November 21.

Looking Back: 2010 NCAA West Region Championships - The 2010 meet was one for the record books, with the Bronco men earning their highest finish in school history. The men placed seventh after entering the meet ranked No. 10 with Jeff Howard leading the team with his 17th-place finish. For the women, the Broncos raced as a team for only the fourth time in school history, placing 21st. Emma Bates led the women with her 77th-place finish.

Results - Results will be available at and at the conclusion of the meet.

Last Time Out - Two weeks ago (Oct. 29) the Broncos took on the Mountain West in their first conference championship meet under their new affiliation. The Bronco men and women were each picked to place fifth in the preseason polls, but proved they were better after the women placed third overall and the men fourth. Marisa VanderMalle led the women with an eighth-place finish while Drew O'donoghue-McDonald led the men with his 10th-place finish. Freshman Vince Hamilton was named the MW Men's Freshman of the Year after placing 11th. VanderMalle was joined by Emma Bates and Tessa Murray representing the Bronco women on the All-Mountain West Second Team. O'dongohue-McDonald and Hamilton represented the men's team honoree, both landing on the second team as well.

Earning Honors - Freshman Vince Hamilton was the only Bronco to garner a weekly award this season, being named Mountain West Athlete of the Week, Sept. 27. He was also named the MW Freshman of the Year for finishing the conference race as the top freshman.

» «