Bronco Men Capture First-Ever WAC Title, Women Place Fourth

MOSCOW, Idaho - The Boise State Broncos will get to add another trophy to their shelves after the Bronco men's cross country captured the 2010 Western Athletic Conference title at Virgil Phillips Farm County Park (Moscow, Idaho) on Saturday (Oct. 30). The men, who were ranked second heading into the meet, were able to upset top-ranked Utah State who won the last five championship titles. The championship title is the first-ever for the Boise State men.

"We are excited about winning the first-ever WAC cross country title," exclaimed head track and field and cross country coach J.W. Hardy. "The guys had a fantastic day and Coach (Brad) Wick (assistant coach in charge of distance and cross country) did a great job preparing them." 

Hardy, the head cross country and track and field coach was named WAC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year.

 The Bronco women also fared well, capturing a fourth-place finish over the 5-kilometer course after being projected to finish fifth in the pre-championship polls. Boise State freshman Emma Bates earned the team's top individual honor after placing third and capturing the WAC Women's Freshman of the Year title.

The Bronco men were able to capture the team title with 57 points on the day. New Mexico State placed second with 66 points just edging out defending champs Utah State who placed third with 67 points. Fresno State placed fourth in the team race with 119 points, while Idaho placed fifth (136 points). San Jose placed sixth (189) while Louisiana Tech rounded out the team scores in seventh (195).

In the women's race Boise State placed fourth with 89 points, with New Mexico State placing just ahead in third with 75 points. Idaho won the women's title with 48 points, while Utah State placed second with 69 points. Fresno State placed fifth (129 points), Nevada placed sixth (140), Hawaii came in seventh (182) while San Jose State (226) and Louisiana Tech (286) rounded out the team race in eighth and ninth places, respectively.

Boise State senior Sawyer Bosch earned the top spot over the 8-kilometer course for the Bronco men placing fourth (24:43.55), earning his second career All-WAC First Team honor and fourth All-WAC honor overall. Bronco freshman Allan Schroeder was second for the Broncos racing to a ninth-place finish overall (25:16.80). Fellow freshman Drew O'donoghue-McDonald and sophomore Jeff Howard joined Schroeder on the All-WAC Second Team with O'donoghue-McDonald placing ninth (25:17.08) and Howard placing 14th (25:18.46). Senior Brad Bogdan placed 20th overall (25:46.83), Brian Pierre placed 23rd (25:49.12) and Scott Foley placed 24th (25:49.43) to round out the scoring Broncos. Senior Kevin Higgs also competed for the team placing 38th (26:51.08) in his final WAC Championships as a Bronco.

On the women's side, Bates ran an excellent race finishing in third (17:42.68) adding an All-WAC First Team honor to her list of accomplishments for the day. Freshman Alyssa Boucher captured her first All-WAC Second Team honor after placing 12th (18:11.41). Freshman Tessa Murray placed 19th (18:21.39) while Kate Jette placed 27th (18:38.10). Senior Carly Gerard placed 28th (18:38.18), Sarah Bisterfeldt came in 39th (19:02.72) and Erin McLaughlin placed 40th (19:03.22) to round out the Broncos' scorers. Lauren Lucas also competed in the race, placing eighth for the team and 45th overall (19:08.78).

Fresno State's Olivier Collin won the men's title (24:34.21), also earning the men's WAC Freshman of the Year honor. For the women, Courtney Schultz of New Mexico State captured the title (17:37.24).

The Broncos continue their 2010 season on Nov. 13 at the 2010 NCAA West Region Championships held in Springfield, Ore.

» «