Broncos Third, Fourth at Mountain West Meet

FT. COLLINS, Colo. - The Boise State cross country teams raced in their first Mountain West Championship meet Saturday (Oct. 29) at the Collindale Golf Course in Ft. Collins, showing they are competitive against their new conference opponents. The Bronco women earned a third-place team finish, while the men placed fourth overall after both being picked to finish fifth in the preseason coaches' poll.

The Bronco women earned a solid third-place finish with 88-points in a wide-spread team field, while the men tallied 75-points in a tighter men's team race. New Mexico swept the women's and men's titles scoring 30-points and 51-points, respectively.

"I am very pleased in how well our teams performed today," said head cross country and track and field coach J.W. Hardy. "Both teams were well prepared and did a great job of working together, which is reflected in the results."

The women's team worked well together finishing in a close group of eighth through 30 th-place for their five scoring runners. Redshirt freshman Marisa VanderMalle led the troop with an eighth-place finish on the 6-kilometer course. The Pasco, Wash., native was the first freshman to finish, clocking a time of 21:20.4.

Sophomore Emma Bates placed second for the Bronco women, picking up an 11 th-place finish in a time of 21:33.1, while sophomore Tessa Murray finished just behind in 21:46.8 to place 13th. The sophomore pair, along with VanderMalle, earned all-conference second team honors with their finishes. Sophomores Lauren Lucas placed 29th (22:39.7) and Erin McLaughlin placed 30th (22:43.7) to round out the Broncos scorers.

Sophomores Taryn Treadway (22:45.4) and Kate Jette (23:05.6), placed 32 nd and 36th, while redshirt junior Shea Hanson placed 47th (23:40.3) as Boise State's full team of competitors.

For the Bronco men, sophomore Drew O'donoghue-McDonald led the way with a 10 th-place finish in a time of 25:35.5 on the 8-kilometer course. Freshman Vince Hamilton finished one spot behind in 11th-place in a time of 25:36.3. Hamilton's finish was the top for any true freshman in the field, earning him the Mountain West Men's Freshman of the Year honor.  The two Bronco men earned all-conference second team honors with their finishes in the top-14.

Running well as a team, sophomore Allan Schroeder and freshman John Robinson finished just outside of all-conference honors, placing 15 th (25:46.9) and 16th (25:48.2), respectively. The Broncos brought in their scoring runners all within the top-25, with freshman Kyle Merritt earning the final team points with his 23rd-place finish (26:13.7).

Also competing for the Broncos was freshman Dakota Parker, finishing in the top-30 with his 28 th-place finish and time of 26:21.5. Redshirt freshman Andrew Booth and freshman David Elliot rounded out the Bronco competitors, placing 37th (26:56.6) and 38th (26:57.9), respectively.

The Lobo women won the team title with their own senior Ruth Senior leading the race with a time of 20:47.8 and picking up the title of MW Women's Athlete of the Year. Hosting the meet, Colorado State's women placed second with 53-points, while the Broncos placed third. Air Force earned the fourth-place spot with 122-points, while Wyoming placed fifth with 133-points. TCU earned 133-points, while UNLV picked up 179-points and San Diego State had 218-points, to place sixth, seventh and eighth, respectively.

New Mexico's men won the team title with junior Ross Millington winning the race in a time of 24:54.9 and earning MW Men's Athlete of the Year. Air Force was the team runner-up with 54-points, while Colorado State earned 68-points to place third. The Broncos picked up the fourth-place spot, while Wyoming earned a fifth-place finish with 85-points. TCU rounded out the team scoring with 190 points, placing sixth.

New Mexico's head coach Joe Franklin earned MW Coach of the Year honors for both the men's and women's teams.

Boise State will take a week off from competition before heading to Palo Alto, Calif., on Nov. 12  to continue their postseason competition at the NCAA West Regional Championships hosted by Stanford.

The following is a complete list of the men's and women's All-MW teams:

Men's All-MW First Team
Ross Millington, Jr., New Mexico
Jeremy Drenckhahn, Jr., Air Force
Spenser Lynass, Sr., Colorado State
Sean Stam, So., New Mexico
James Walmsley, Sr., Air Force
Christian Meyer, So., Colorado State
Nick Ekel, Sr., Wyoming

Men's All-MW Second Team
Paul Burke, Sr., Wyoming
Pierre Malherbe, Fr., New Mexico
Drew O'donoghue-McDonald, So., Boise State
Vince Hamilton, Fr., Boise State
Andrew Quallio, So., Air Force
Jake Keyser, Sr., Colorado State
Isaiah Bragg, So., So., Air Force

Men's Athlete of the Year: Ross Millington, Jr., New Mexico
Men's Freshman of the Year: Vince Hamilton, Fr., Boise State
Men's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico

Women's All-MW First Team
Ruth Senior, Sr., New Mexico
Ellie Keyser, Sr., Colorado State
Agnes Kemboi, Jr., TCU
Natalie Gray, Sr., New Mexico
Nicole Peters, Sr., Colorado State
Kirsty Milner, Sr., New Mexico
Sarah Waldron, Sr., New Mexico

Women's All-MW Second Team
Marisa VanderMalle, Fr., Boise State
Melissa Fuerst, Jr., Air Force
Hannah Pensack-Rinehart, So., Colorado State
Emma Bates, So., Boise State
Imogen Ainsworth, So., New Mexico
Tessa Murray, So., Boise State
Whitney Henderson, So., Colorado State

Women's Athlete of the Year: Ruth Senior, Sr., New Mexico
Women's Freshman of the Year: Holly Page, Fr., Wyoming
Women's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico

» «