BOISE, Idaho The 2005 WAC Cross Country Championships will be held at Eagle Island State Park on Saturday, October 29. Boise State will host five other men’s teams and seven other women’s teams. The women’s race, a 5k, starts at 9:00 a.m., while the men’s race, an 8k, gets underway at 9:45 a.m.

On the men’s side, Ty Axtman, a junior from Elma, Wash., leads the Broncos into the championship. Axtman, a two time WAC Athlete of the Week this season, was Boise State’s top finisher in every race this season. Axtman will be joined by eight other Boise State runnersCaleb Cazier, Brandon Christoffersen, Kyle Christoffersen, David Creamer, Cody Eaton, Bryan Rodie, Matty Schmasow, and Darren Strongin the Broncos hopes of winning their first WAC cross country championship.

The Bronco women bring a balanced group of runners into the league championship. Junior Becky Guyette and freshmen Breanne Sande and Kendra Hernandez have each placed first among Bronco runners in races this season. They will be joined by six other Bronco runnersTiffany Barry, Meadow Braden, Tess Collins, Leah Hover, Melinda Rackliffe, and Heidi Suderin their quest for their first WAC cross country championship.

Joining Boise State in the men’s field will be Idaho, Louisiana Tech, New Mexico State, San Jose State, and Utah State. Joining the Bronco women will be Fresno State, Hawai’i, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico State, San Jose State, and Utah State.

Boise State is the top returning finisher from last season’s championships for the men, while Nevada is the top returning team on the women’s side. In the men’s race last season, Boise State finished fourth behind Rice, Tulsa, and UTEPall of which left the WAC after last season. The Bronco women placed sixth last year behind SMU, Rice, UTEP, Nevada, and Hawai’i.

» «