Bronco Cross Country Places Third at Coyote Invite

CALDWELL, Idaho - The Boise State cross country team competed in their final regular season meet of 2010 on Thursday (Oct. 21) evening, racing at the College of Idaho Coyote Invitational at Fairview Golf Course. The Bronco women and men each placed third in the meet, with the women scoring 75 points and the men scoring 80 points.

Boise State's top finisher on the night was freshman Kate Jette, placing eighth in the women's 5-kilometer race with a time of 18:58.60. The Bronco men were led by Scott Foley who placed 17th in the men's 8-kilometer race with a time of 26:43.20.

The women's race, which consisted of 61 individual runners, was made up of five teams. The College of Idaho earned the top team spot scoring 25 points, while Eastern Oregon placed second with 44 points. EOU's Karlee Coffey was the top finisher in the race, clocking a time of 17:38.60.

The College of Idaho was able to complete the sweep with the Coyotes picking up the men's team title, defeating six other teams with their 28 team points. Eastern Oregon placed second in the men's race as well, just missing out on the top spot with 29 points. EOU's D.J. Flores was the top male finisher running a time of 24:57.80 to win out of the 71-man field.

Other Bronco women finishers include: 16. Taryn Treadway, 19:23.40; 19. Piper Delaney, 19:28.20; 22. Emma Bates, 19:40.40; 23. Erin McLaughlin, 19:40.80; 24. Alyssa Boucher, 19:41.20; 25. Sarah Bisterfeldt, 19:46.90; 27. Audie Balue, 19:48.30; 28. Jamie Knapp, 19:51.00; 33. Tessa Murray, 20:01.00; 34. Rici Morrill, 20:04.90; 35. Carly Gerard, 20:05.60; 37. Melody Braden, 20:20.90; 38. Lauren Lucas, 20:21.70; 45. Breanne Whitlock, 21:00.30; 54. Danielle Zehrung, 22:19.20.

Other Bronco men finishers include: 18. Allan Schroeder, 26:43.60; 19. Drew O'donoghue-McDonald, 26:44.40; 20. Brian Pierre, 26:44.80; 21. Sawyer Bosch, 26:45.30; 22. Brad Bogdan, 26:45.30; 23. Jeff Howard, 26:46.30.

The Broncos begin their post-season journey next week when they take part in the 2010 Western Athletic Conference Championships on Saturday, October 30. The meet will take place at the Virgil Phillilps Farm County Park, located five miles north of Moscow, Idaho. The women will compete in a 5-kilometer race, slated to start at 10 a.m. (Pacific), while the men will run an 8-kilometer race at 10:45 a.m. (Pacific). Admission and parking to the championship event are free of charge.

» «