Broncos Prepare for West Coast's Elite at 34th Annual Charles Bowles Invitational

What’s Happening:  After taking a break from competition, the Boise State cross country team hits the road to compete at the 34th Annual Charles Bowles Invitational hosted by Willamette University, Saturday, Oct. 4, at Bush’s Pasture Park in Salem, Ore.

About the Charles Bowles Invitational:  The Bearcats the event that was made famous by longtime Willamette head coach Charles Bowles. Although Bowles passed away in 2005, his memory is honored each year by this event, which annually features some of the top collegiate teams and runners on the West Coast.

The Competition and Format:  This year, approximately 1,300 runners are expected to compete, with nearly 1,100 competing in the four College/Open races and roughly 200 in the high school events.

The Cardinal races (8k men’s, 5k women’s) will consist of NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA teams, while the Gold races (8k men’s, 5k women’s) will feature NCAA Division I, NJCAA, club teams and unattached runners.

The Teams:  The Broncos will face some of their toughest competition yet as they will compete against several nationally ranked teams including the University of Portland men’s team (No. 7, NCAA I) and the regionally ranked women’s team from Portland (No. 6 NCAA I West). In total, four NCAA Division I teams and 11 junior college teams will run in the men’s Gold Race, while five NCAA Division I teams and 11 junior college teams will compete in the women’s Gold Race.

Schedule of Events:

9:30 a.m. - Men's Cardinal Race (8K)
10:15 a.m. - Women's Cardinal Race (5K)
10:50 a.m. - Men's Gold Race (8K)
11:35 a.m. - Women's Gold Race (5K)
NOTE:  The high school races will follow the College/Open events

Pierre Named WAC Athlete of the Week:  Boise State’s Brian Pierre has been named the Western Athletic Conference men’s Cross Country Athletes of the Week, respectively, for the week of Sept. 15-21.

Pierre, a sophomore from Laramie, Wyo. (Laramie HS), was the top finisher at the Bob Firman Invitational in Eagle, Idaho. Pierre finished the 8,000-meter course with a time of 26:02, helping the Broncos to a first place team finish.


Last Time Out:  The Boise State cross country team took to the course on Saturday morning, battling through a soggy course from earlier downpours at the 2008 Bob Firman Invitational. Despite the wet weather and delays due to lighting and rain, the Bronco men were able to capture the team title with 35 points while the women finished in third with 74 points at Eagle Island State Park.

The Men - The Boise State men were led by freshman Brian Pierre who broke the tape in a first place finish with a time of 26:02 on the 8,000-meter course. The Bronco men were able to earn the team title thanks to finishing all their scoring runners in the top-25. Sophomore Kevin Higgs placed fourth with a time of 26:22 while freshman Scott Foley ran a time of 26:35 to place ninth. Senior Cameron Lockard placed 11th with a time of 26:39 while freshman Cassidy Bigsby rounded out the Bronco scorers in 21st place and clocking a time of 27:23.

 The Bronco men were able to hold off Lewis and Clark College who finished in second with a team score of 52 points and the College of Idaho who placed third with 69 points.

The Women - The Boise State women were also able to place all scorers in the top-25 with sophomore Carly Gerard leading the team with a 15th place finish and covering the 5,000-meter course in a time of 19:14. Senior Kendra Hernandez clocked a time of 19:30 to place 21st while sophomore Karleigh Gempler finished just behind in 22nd place with a time of 19:31. Senior Pam Ward garnered a 23rd place finish running a time of 19:32 while freshman Melody Braden rounded out the Bronco scorers with a 24th place finish and a time of 19:35.

 The Bronco women finished behind Brigham Young University who tallied a score of 25 points after finishing their five scoring runners in the top-10. Idaho State University took second in the team race, scoring 56 points. BYU’s Angela Wagner was the race winner for the women, clocking a course record of 18:19.

» «