XC Prepares for Griak Invitational
Sept. 22, 2016

Watch (FloPRO Subscription Needed)Live Results | Participating Teams

The Boise State men’s and women’s cross country teams will compete in their first major meet of the season this weekend when they travel to Minneapolis, Minn., to compete in the 2016 Roy Griak Invitational at Les Bolstad Golf Course on the campus of the University of Minnesota.

WHEN: Saturday, Sept. 24

Merril Fischbein Men’s Gold 8K (Division I) Race | 11:20 a.m. (MT)
Jack Johnson Women’s Gold 6K (Division I) Race | 12:35 p.m. (MT)

WHO: According to the weekly USTFCCCA National Coaches’ Poll, the women’s race will feature seven top-25 teams including the No. 6 Broncos – the top ranked team in the field. They will be joined by No. 9 Michigan State, No. 10 Michigan, No. 13 Penn State, No. 17 Iowa State, No. 20 San Francisco and No. 25 Minnesota.

The men’s race will be equally as competitive. No. 16 Boise State will be the top contender according to the USTFCCCA, but No. 17 Michigan, No. 19 Oklahoma, No. 19 Portland, No. 22 Furman and No. 24 Colorado State are close behind in the national rankings.

In total, there will be 36 women’s teams and 30 men’s teams competing. For a complete list, click HERE.


The women’s team made a splash last year at the Roy Griak Invitational, winning the meet with just 37 points – the fifth-lowest team score for a women’s team in the meet’s history. Allie Ostrander (21:09.4) took second to lead the way. She was closely followed by Minttu Hukka (sixth), Brenna Peloquin (11th) and Anna McDonald (17th).

The men also turned in a solid performance, earning sixth place in a stacked 23-team field. Michael Vennard was the top Boise State finisher after finishing in third place. Louis McAfee (19th), Rhys Park (34th), John Rodeheffer (38th) and Addison Dehaven (49th) also logged top-50 finishes.

BACK-TO-BACK POSSIBILITY: If the women’s team were to repeat as team champions, they would become the second women’s program to win in back-to-back years, joining the likes of Minnesota (2007, 2008) and Providence (1995, 1996).

» «