Broncos Successful in Season Opener Meet

NAMPA, Idaho - The Boise State cross country teams opened up their 2011 season on Saturday (Sept. 10) racing at the fourth annual Roger Curran Invitational at West Park in Nampa, Idaho. Both the men and women had a solid showing, with the women capturing the team title (19-points) and the men finishing as the top collegiate team (37-points).

The women were led by redshirt freshman Marisa VanderMalle who earned the race title after covering the 4-kilometer course in a time of 14:48.10. Leading a young team of men was freshman Vince Hamilton who placed second overall with a time of 19:00.65 on the 6-kilometer course.

VanderMalle led a very successful women's team, smashing the competition and defeating second-place Northwest Nazarene by 52-points. NNU tallied 71-points for their runner-up title, fighting off Eastern Oregon who scored 73-points to place third. Westminster of Utah placed fourth with 103-points while Treasure Valley Community College placed fifth with 105-points.

On the men's side of competition, the Broncos finished as the top collegiate team with their 37-points, but finished second behind an unattached team of former Broncos who earned 31-points. NNU placed third in the men's race (73-points), while Eastern Oregon placed fourth (107-points), TVCC placed fifth (126-points), Westminster came in sixth (168-points) and Bronco Track Club finished seventh (212-points).

Helping the Bronco women to their title was sophomore Emma Bates, the Broncos' top finisher in the Roger Curran Invite in 2010. Bates placed third overall with a time of 15:04.29, while redshirt junior Shea Hanson placed just behind in fourth with a time of 15:06.13. Earning a fifth-place finish was sophomore Erin McLaughlin, running a time of 15:12.35 and fellow classmate Tessa Murray pulled in a sixth-place finish in a time of 15:21.51. Sophomore Rici Morrill snagged a seventh-place finish (15:22.06) and sophomore Taryn Treadway brought the scoring Broncos all inside the top-10 with her ninth-place finish (15:28.06).

For the men, 2010 champion Drew O'donoghue-McDonald captured a fourth-place finish this year, running a time of 19:09.77. Sophomore Allan Schroeder placed sixth with a time of 19:17.63, while freshman Jared Lehning clocked a time of 19:37.70 to place 13th. Rounding out the top-seven for the Broncos were freshmen Dakota Parker (19:44.09), John Robinson (19:55.23) and David Elliott (20:03.96) who placed 14th, 16th and 19th, respectively.

The Broncos will take a week off to rest up after their season opener and set their sights on two big meets held Sat., Sept. 24. The top-seven runners for both the men's and women's teams will head to St. Paul, Minn., to compete in the Roy Griak Invitational, while the remainder of the Broncos will stay in the valley to run in the favorite Bob Firman Invitational at Eagle Island State Park.

» «