Emma Bates Named Mountain West Female Student-Athlete of the Year
Emma Bates is the 2013-14 MW Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

July 22, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--Redshirt junior Emma Bates has been selected as the Mountain West Female Student-Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Thompson announced on Tuesday. Bates becomes the first female Bronco to win the award, and the second Bronco since Kurt Felix won the accolade on the men's side in 2012.

Bates was named the 2014 MW Outdoor Track and Field Student-Athlete of the Year after capturing the national championship in the 10,000 meters (32:32.35) at this year's NCAA Outdoor Championships. She became the first woman to win an outdoor national championship in Boise State history. Two days later, Bates placed fourth in the 5,000 meters (15:51.87) and earned her ninth All-America honor of her track and field and cross country career.

Bates' performance, along with teammate Marisa Howard, led the Boise State women's team to an eighth-place finish in the team standings, giving the Broncos their best NCAA Track and Field Championship team finish in school history. In addition, the finish is also the best women's team finish in school history for any sport at an NCAA Championship.

The Elk River, Minn., native won the 1,500 meters (4:40.06) and the 5,000 meters (17:37.68) at the 2014 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Bates set MW records in the 5,000 meters (Mt. SAC Relays, 15:33.42) and 10,000 meters (Payton Jordan Invite, 32:20.83). She added two fourth-place finishes in both the 3,000 (9.17.37) and 5,000 (16.25.66) meter races at the 2014 MW Indoor Championships, capturing first-team All-America honors in both events.

She was the national runner-up in cross country with a time of 20:03.90. Bates won the MW Cross Country Championship title in 20:48.15 and the NCAA West Regional in 19:11. Bates' prowess on the course this season earned her the 2013 MW Women's Cross Country Student-Athlete of the Year honors.

Bates wrapped up the 2013-14 season with four first-team All-MW accolades, and five All-America honors across cross country and indoor and outdoor track and field.

Established by the Mountain West Joint Council in May 2010, the MW Athlete of the Year Awards are bestowed annually to one male and one female student-athlete who have achieved athletic excellence during the past academic year. In addition to superior athletic achievement, criterion for the MW Athlete of the Year Award requires that nominees be in good academic standing throughout their season of competition, and demonstrate good character and conduct on and off the playing field.

Year Male Female
2009-10 Jerry Hughes (Football), TCU Jodi Ewart (Golf), New Mexico
2010-11 Jimmer Fredette (Basketball), BYU Danielle Minch (Volleyball), Colorado State
2011-12 Kurt Felix (Track & Field), Boise State Whitney Gipson (Track & Field), TCU
2012-13 DJ Peterson (Baseball) New Mexico Shanieka Thomas (Track & Field), San Diego State
2013-14 Derek Carr (Football), Fresno State Emma Bates (Track & Field/Cross Country) Boise State

» «