Bates Crowned Champion, Broncos Place Second, Fourth
Marisa Howard placed third in the 2013 MW Cross Country Championships

Nov. 1, 2013

Final Results
Photo Gallery
Championship Central (archived race video & highlights available)

Boise State's Emma Bates earned the school's first conference cross country title in six years, claiming the women's 6-kilometer title at the 2013 Mountain West Conference Cross Country Championships, Friday. Bates was named the 2013 MW Women's Athlete of the Year after a stellar performance on the Eisenhower Blue Golf Course on the grounds of the Air Force Academy.

The redshirt junior led the Bronco women to a second-place finish, earning 60 team points; while the Bronco men came up with a fourth-place finish and 101-points in their third MW Cross Country Championship.

Bates, who ran well ahead of the field for the latter half of the race, earned the fifth individual women's cross country title in school history, as well as the fifth Athlete of the Year honor. Breanna Sande was the most recent Bronco (men or women) to earn an individual title, capturing the 2007 Western Athletic Conference title.

Setting a course record, Bates clocked a time of 20:48.15 to claim the individual title, while teammate Marisa Howard finished two spots behind in third with a time of 21:18.58. The duo earned All-MW First Team honors with their top-seven finishes.

Taryn Treadway was the third runner for Boise State, placing 12th (22:09.90) and earning an All-MW Second Team nod, the first of her career. Erin McLaughlin placed 20th (22:26.61), Lauren Lucas placed 25th (22:37.51) and Kate Jette placed 26th (22:38.25), while Shelby McIntyre rounded out the scorers in 43rd (23:07.49). Hayley Gregoire (23:27.14) and Shannon Susbauer (24:10.49) also ran for the Broncos, placing 49th and 62nd, respectively.

On the men's side Aaron Back led the Broncos with his 12th-place finish, clocking a time of 24:36.62 on the 8-kilometer course. Back's performance earned him an All-MW Second Team nod after placing in the top-14. Allan Schroeder just missed all-conference honors after placing 20th in a time of 24:43.37. David Elliott ran a time of 24:49.20 to place 20th, while Jeff Howard (25:04.64) and Kyle Merritt (25:08.48) finished in 25th and 26th, respectively. Drew O'donoghue-McDonald placed 36th (25:27.74), while Zach Wiles placed 42nd (25:47.96) to round out the scorers for Boise State. Nick Lobb (26:17.56) also ran for the Broncos, placing 51st.

The University of New Mexico swept the team titles for the fifth season in a row. The Lobo women earned their sixth-straight title with 31-points, while the men earned their fifth-straight with 32-points. Air Force's Isaiah Bragg captured the men's individual title with a time of 24:08.39.

The Bronco men and women will compete next at the 2013 NCAA West Regional, Nov. 15, in Sacramento, Calif.
Men's Team Scores: 1. New Mexico, 32; 2. Colorado State, 51; 3. Air Force, 80; 4. Boise State, 101; 5. Wyoming, 106; 6. Utah State, 130; 7. Fresno State, 222; 8. San Jose State, 248.

Women's Team Scores: 1. New Mexico, 31; 2. Boise State, 60; 3. Colorado State, 117; 4. Air Force, 118; 5. Utah State, 121; 6. Wyoming, 143; 7. Nevada, 162; 8. Fresno State, 201; 9. San Diego State, 274; 10. San Jose State, 297; 11. UNLV, 330.


Mountain West Men's Student-Athlete of the Year: Isaiah Bragg, Sr., Air Force

Mountain West Men's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico

Co-Mountain West Men's Freshman of the Year: Colby Wilson, Utah State; Michael Kesy, Wyoming

Mountain West Women's Student-Athlete of the Year: Emma Bates, Jr., Boise State

Mountain West Women's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico

Mountain West Women's Freshman of the Year: Sanne Holland, Colorado State


» «