7 Broncos Race to All-MW Honors
Oct. 27, 2017

Men's Results  Women's Results 

The Boise State men’s and women’s cross country team landed a combined seven runners on All-Mountain West teams, while Ahmed Muhumed was named the Mountain West Men’s Freshman of the Year, Friday at the UNM North Golf Course.

Boise State's women's team finished second with 50 points, while the men finished third (64 points).

The seven All-Mountain West honorees is tied for the most in program history (2015), while Muhumed is the third Bronco to earn conference freshman of the year honors since Boise State joined the Mountain West (Andrew Rafla- 2014, Elijah Armstrong- 2015).

Allie Ostrander and Emily Venters earned first-team All-Mountain West honors on the women’s side by placing fourth and seventh, respectively. On the men’s side Miler Haller was the lone Bronco to be named first-team All-Mountain West, thanks to his sixth-place finish.

Senior Minttu Hukka was one spot shy of earning first-team honors, but her eighth-place effort was still good for second-team All-Mountain West. Michael Vennard, Addison Dehaven and Riley Campbell all earned second-team All-Mountain West honors on the men’s side. 

Vennard has now earned All-Mountain West cross country honors all four years.

First-team All-Mountain West is awarded to the first seven runners to cross the finish line, while second-team is awarded to those finishing in the next seven places.

The men’s team was the first to go off on the 8-kilometer course. The field stayed packed together past the 2-kilometer mark, with the majority of the Boise State lineup towards the front of the group.

As Colorado State’s Jerrell Mock and Cole Rockhold, and Utah State’s Dillon Maggard began to pull away from the field, Haller moved up within the top 10. The redshirt sophomore used a strong finish over the final kilometer to finish sixth (23:57.80).

“Being up at elevation, I’m pretty proud about what I did,” Haller said. “It was pretty slow to start out with, and then a move was made. I did a pretty good job of covering it and staying tough up top.”

Dehaven held steady throughout the race to place 11th (24:15.19) – earning the first All-Mountain West cross country honors of his career. Vennard (24:28.20) and Campbell (24:29.27) ran strategic races to finish strong over the final four kilometers to finish within the top 14.

Colorado State won the men’s team title with 31 points, while Air Force narrowly topped the Broncos, 59 points to Boise State’s 64. Mock won the individual title in 23:49.74.

“Today we were a little disappointed taking third, but we know that there’s a progression still going on,” Haller said. “We’re excited about West Regionals . . . we expect big things.”

In the women’s race, Ostrander went with the front pack of five New Mexico runners, with the rest of Boise State’s lineup leading the chase pack. Ostrander was able to hold on for a fourth-place finish, running 20:27.83 for 6-kilometers.

Running as a tight pack for the third-straight race, Boise State was able to land three runners in the top 10 to finish second as a team. Freshman Emily Venters ran consistently throughout the race to finish in seventh (20:55.6), with Hukka a spot behind in eighth (20:59.76).

Grace McConnochie and Anna McDonald just missed out on All-Mountain West honors, finishing 15th (21:22.56) and 16th (21:29.77), respectively.

Host New Mexico won the team title with 22 points, while the Lobos’ Ednah Kurgat won the individual title.

Boise State continues the championship portion of the season at the NCAA West Region Championships – the qualifying meet for the NCAA National Championships. The West Regional will be held in Seattle, Wash., Nov. 10.

Men's Team Results
1. Colorado State, 31
2. Air Force, 59
3. Boise State, 64
4. Utah State, 93
5. New Mexico, 97
6. Wyoming, 179
7. San Jose State, 205
8. Fresno State, 251

Women's Team Results
1. New Mexico, 22 
2. Boise State, 50
3. Utah State, 73
4. Air Force, 144
5. San Jose State, 144
6. Nevada, 145
7. Colorado State, 179
8. Wyoming, 204
9. UNLV, 282
10. Fresno State, 309

Men’s Individual Results

6. Miler Haller- 23:57.80
11. Addison Dehaven- 24:15.19
13. Michael Vennard- 24:28.20
14. Riley Campbell- 24:29.70
20. Yusuke Uchikoshi- 24:38.32
29. Ahmed Muhumed- 24:53.92
30. Andrew Rafla- 24:55.93
42. Chandler Austin- 25:23.53
45. Ozo Rojas- 25:43.26

Women’s Individual Results

4. Allie Ostrander- 20:27.83
7. Emily Venters- 20:55.60
8. Minttu Hukka- 20:59.76
15. Grace McConnochie- 21:22.56
16. Anna McDonald- 21:29.77
21. Kyra Lopez- 21:41.83
22. Alexis Fuller- 21:43.62
25. Clare O’Brien- 21:47.74
42. Sadi Henderson- 22:17.09

Men’s Athlete of the Year: Jerrell Mock, Colorado State
Men’s Freshman of the Year: Ahmed Muhumed, Boise State
Men’s Coach of the Year: Art Siemers, Colorado State

Women’s Athlete of the Year: Ednah Kurgat, New Mexico
Women’s Freshman of the Year: Weini Kelati, New Mexico
Women’s Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico

Men’s First-Team All-Mountain West

Jerrell Mock, Colorado State
Cole Rockhold, Colorado State
Dillon Maggard, Utah State
Andrew Johnston, Air Force
Eric Hamer, Colorado State
Miler Haller, Boise State
Josh Kerr, New Mexico

Men’s Second-Team All-Mountain West

Grant Fisher, Colorado State
Mickey Davey, Air Force
Jacob Bilvado, Air Force
Addison Dehaven, Boise State
Alexander Palm, New Mexico
Michael Vennard, Boise State
Riley Campbell, Boise State

Women’s First-Team All-Mountain West

Ednah Kurgat, New Mexico
Weini Kelati, New Mexico
Charlotte Prouse, New Mexico
Allie Ostrander, Boise State
Alice Wright, New Mexico
Alyssa Snyder, Utah State
Emily Venters, Boise State

Women’s Second-Team All-Mountain West

Minttu Hukka, Boise State
Jaci Smith, Air Force
Tylee Newman, Utah State
Sophie Eckel, New Mexico
Alex Buck, New Mexico
Kashley Carter, Utah State
Jenny Sandoval, San Jose State


» «