Broncos Place Third, Fourth at Mountain West Championships

**Scroll to bottom for photo gallery & video**

LAS VEGAS, Nev. --
The Boise State women's and men's cross country teams placed third and fourth, respectively, at the 2012 Mountain West Cross Country Championship Friday (Oct.26) at UNLV's Silver Bowl Park. The Bronco women collected 72-points, while the men tallied 102-points.

The Bronco women were led by All-Mountain West First-Team honorees Marisa VanderMalle and Tessa Murray, while Barak Watson led the men, also earning an All-MW First-Team nod.

"We had some fantastic individual efforts from Marisa, Tessa and Barak, who all had strong races," said head track and field and cross country coach J.W. Hardy.

VanderMalle led the Bronco women with a third-place finish, clocking a time of 20:55.29 on the 6-kilometer course. Murray was close behind, placing sixth in a time of 21:05.86. Sarah Bisterfeldt led a three-Bronco sweep, running in 21:49.00 to pick up a 20 th-place finish, while Taryn Treadway (21:56.49) and Lauren Lucas (21:59.56) placed 21st and 22nd, respectively. Kate Jette finished shortly after in 25th place (22:05.64), while Rici Morrill rounded out the Bronco runners, placing 31st (22:12.90).

"Our women did a great job in battling today," said Hardy. "They competed hard and did a solid job of executing the race plan. We are excited about the opportunity to improve at the NCAA West Regional Championship in two weeks."

Watson collected a runner-up title in the men's individual race, clocking a time of 23:34.90 on the 8-kilometer course. The transfer from Northwest Nazarene pushed 2012 champion Luke Caldwell of New Mexico to the end, finishing just eight-seconds behind his winning time of 23:26.69.

Allan Schroder was second for Boise State, placing 21 st overall in 25:07.07, while David Elliott finished just behind in a pack of runners placing 23rd in 25:07.30. Aaron Back placed 27th in his first conference meet appearance, running in 25:18.81, while Drew O'donoghue-McDonald placed 29th in 25:29.63. Dakota Parker (25:35.89) and Zach Wiles (26:14.39) wrapped up the seven-man crew placing 31st and 36th, respectively.

"Our men's team certainly didn't put up our best effort today," stated Hardy. "We went into the championship with greater expectations. We will re-group and get ready for the NCAA West Regional in two weeks."

The University of New Mexico defended both its women's and men's titles on Friday. The Lobos head coach Joe Franklin earned the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year honors after the sweep. The women scored 35-points and were led by the MW Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, Lacey Oeding who won the women's race in 20:49.96. Colorado State's women placed second with 63-points.

New Mexico's men earned the team title with 22-points, led by Caldwell who earned the 2012 MW Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year title. Air Force's men placed second with 49-points and Colorado State came in third with 75-points.

The Broncos will take two weeks off before heading to Seattle, Wash., to compete at the 2012 NCAA West Regional Championships hosted by the University of Washington on Fri., Nov. 9.

Team Standings
Women, Team Scores

1. New Mexico, 35
2. Colorado State, 63
3. Boise State, 72
4. Air Force, 92
5. Nevada, 149
6. Wyoming, 151
7. Fresno State, 204
8. San Diego State, 210
9. UNLV, 278

Men, Team Scores
1. New Mexico, 22
2. Air Force, 49
3. Colorado State, 75
4. Boise State, 102
5. Wyoming, 147
6. Fresno State, 154

2012 All-Mountain West Women's Cross Country Team
First Team

Lacey Oeding, Sr., New Mexico
Charlotte Arter, Jr., New Mexico
Marisa VanderMalle, So., Boise State
Holly Page, So., Wyoming
Josephine Moultrie, Sr., New Mexico
Tessa Murray, Jr., Boise State
Samantha Diaz, Jr., Nevada

Second Team
Whitney Henderson, Jr., Colorado State
Melissa Fuerst, Sr., Air Force
Kaitlin Hanenburg, Jr., Colorado State
Jen Bremser, Sr., Air Force
Hannah Pensack-Rinehart, Jr., Colorado State
Shawna Winnegar, Sr., New Mexico
Imogen Ainsworth, Sr., New Mexico

Women's Athlete of the Year - Lacey Oeding, Sr., New Mexico
Women's Freshman of the Year -
Emily Myers, Nevada
Women's Coach of the Year -
Joe Franklin, New Mexico

2012 All-Mountain West Men's Cross Country Team
First Team

Luke Caldwell, Jr., New Mexico
Barak Watson, Sr., Boise State
Pat Zacharias, Jr., New Mexico
Elmar Engholm, Fr., New Mexico
Alex Muntefering, Jr., Colorado State
Adam Bitchell, Jr., New Mexico
Isaiah Bragg, Jr., Air Force

Second Team
Sean Stam, Jr., New Mexico
Matt Bell, Sr., Air Force
Jeremy Drenckhahn, Sr., Air Force
Elliot Myers, So., Air Force
Riley Coates, So., Air Force
Andrew Quallio, Sr., Air Force
Christian Meyer, Jr., Colorado State

Men's Athlete of the Year - Luke Caldwell, Jr., New Mexico
Men's Freshman of the Year -
Elmar Engholm, New Mexico
Men's Coach of the Year -
Joe Franklin, New Mexico

» «