Peloquin Wins Roy Griak Title
Sept. 24, 2016

Men's Results Get Acrobat Reader | Women's Results Get Acrobat Reader

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Boise State sophomore Brenna Peloquin stole the show Saturday afternoon at the Roy Griak Invitational in Minneapolis, Minn., winning the women’s 6-kilometer race thanks to a time of 20:50. The first-place finish marks the first cross country victory for Peloquin in her collegiate career.

Peloquin duked it out with Michigan’s Erin Finn down the stretch and eventually worked her way past the senior in the last half of the race. She ended up with an 11-second victory over Finn, making a statement over the defending Big Ten Cross Country Champion.

“Going into the race I had a really open mind,” Peloquin said. “It was the first race of the season, so I looked at it as a rust buster and didn’t have any expectations.  I still went into it as confident as possible, and I was thinking I would base the race off how I felt.”

“I was really surprised when I won. It eventually was just me and Erin, and we just broke away. I started to feel the race a little bit at the 3K mark, and I eventually made my move at about the 4.5K mark. She didn’t respond, so I just went ahead and finished it off.”

The women performed well in what was a deep field, taking fourth place with 155 points. After Peloquin it was freshman Kyra Lopez taking 30th with a time of 22:31. Minttu Hukka was 37th after clocking a 22:36.

Clare O’Brien (22:37) was right behind Hukka, taking 38th. Gracie Tostenson was the last scorer for the Blue and Orange, finishing in 49th (22:43).

Sarah Hastings (22:55) was 57th and Alexis Fuller (23:14) finished in 76th.

The men’s team also turned in a quality performance, finishing in third place thanks to 112 points. The third-place day is the best team finish for the men’s team at the Roy Griak Invitational in school history. The previous best finish came in 2012 (5th).

Junior Yusuke Uchikoshi led the way with a seventh-place finish thanks to a 25:19 on the 8-kilometer course.

Miler Haller (25:28) and Andrew Rafla (25:40) also logged top-25 finishes, finishing in 13th and 24th place, respectively.

The other two scorers for the Broncos were Chandler Austin (31st – 25:48) and Michael Vennard (37th – 25:52). Riley Campbell was 54th after crossing the line in 26:06, and Rhys Park rounded out the top seven after finishing in 62nd (26:11).

Colorado State’s Jerrell Mock (25:07) won the individual title and Portland (69 points) won as a team.

Men’s Results (3rd/29 | 112 points)
7. Yusuke Uchikosi – 25:19
13. Miler Haller – 25:28
24. Andrew Rafla – 25:40
31. Chandler Austin – 25:48
37. Michael Vennard – 25:52
(54.) Riley Campbell – 26:06
(62.) Rhys Park – 26:11

Women’s Results (4th/30 | 155 points)
1. Brenna Peloquin – 20:50
30. Kyra Lopez – 22:31
37. Minttu Hukka – 22:36
38. Clare O’Brien – 22:37
49. Gracie Tostenson – 22:43
(57.) Sarah Hastings – 22:53
(76.) Alexis Fuller – 23.14

» «