Boise State Track and Field Opens Season by Winning Nine Events in Jacksons Open
NAMPA, Idaho - In the second day of the 2009 Jacksons Open, the Boise State track and field team closed out their season opener with many successes. The Bronco men snagged five individual event titles while the women captured four event wins on the day at the Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center.

Carrying over from the first day of competition, the men's heptathlon was completed on Saturday morning with the 60-meter hurdles, the pole vault and the 1,000-meter dash. Bronco Kurt Felix never surrendered his lead from day one, finishing second in the 1,000-meters, third in the hurdles and fourth in the pole vault. With his successful day, he totaled 5,346 points which is good for an NCAA provisional mark (5,325 is the standard).

Eric Capelle led a trio of Broncos in the 60-meter dash, clocking a time of 6.92 seconds to win the event. Per Strandquist placed second in a time of 7.07 seconds while Marlon Douglas took third in 7.08 seconds. Capelle and Douglas joined Jeff Daw and Paul Roberston in the men's 4x400-meter relay to capture another first place finish, running in a time of 3-minutes, 22.31 seconds.

Also capturing two wins on the day was senior Zacharias Arnos, winning the long jump and triple jump. He captured the long jump title with a jump of 24-feet, 1 ½-inches. His triple jump mark of 51-feet, 6 1/2-inches was good for the win, but 2-inches short of the NCAA provisional mark.

Continuing Bronco sweeps, the Boise State women went 1-2-3 in the 200-meter dash with Taryn Campos leading the pack with a 25.52 second mark. Destiny Gammage clocked a time of 25.61 seconds for a second-place finish while Joi Glass placed third with a time of 25.74 seconds.

In the 500-meter dash, Emily Funkhouser captured a win in a time of one-minute, 18.25 seconds while Chrystal Moore took second-place with a one-minute, 27.54 second finish.

The Boise State "B" relay team had a surprise win in the women's 4x400-meter relay, edging out the Boise State "A" team for the win. The "B" team, made up by Glass, Funkhouser, Erica Hill and Sam Alderman, broke the tape at 4-minutes, 0.40-seconds to earn the win. The "A" team, Campos, Moore, Marjani Maldonado and Lacy Hopkins, ran a time of 4-minutes, 8.53-seconds for the second-place finish.

Earning the final win for Boise State was a three-way tie between Broncos BreAnna Craig, Heidi Dorling and Annelise Bertleson. The trio cleared a height of 11-feet, 11 ¾-inches and recorded the same number of misses, allowing the three-way tie.

Boise State was joined by Portland State, Northwest Nazarene and Concordia (Ore.) as well as a handful of track clubs and unattached athletes in the 2009 Jacksons Open.

The Broncos will take over a month off from competition, before returning to the Jacksons Indoor Track when they host the Boise State Duals on Jan. 23, 2010.

» «