Rome, Felix Gear Up for 2012 Olympic Games

BOISE, Idaho - Two former Boise State track and field athletes are approaching their competition dates at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Jarred Rome and Kurt Felix await the start of the track and field portion of the Olympiad which begins Friday, August 3 and runs through Sunday, August 12.

Rome will compete in the discus throw for Team USA, while Felix will compete in the decathlon for his home country of Grenada.

Rome, a 2000 graduate of Boise State, will compete in his second Olympic Games after participating in the 2004 Games. He begins his 2012 journey on Monday, August 6 with the qualifying rounds of the discus scheduled at 3:00 a.m. (Mountain Time). The discus finals are slated for Tuesday, August 7 at 12:45 p.m. (MT). Rome holds a personal-best of 225'-7" (68.76m) in the discus.

Felix, a 2012 Boise State graduate, will compete in his first Olympic Games after earning his first NCAA Division I decathlon title earlier this spring. He begins competition on Wednesday, August 8 at 3:10 a.m. (MT) with the 100-meters. He will continue on with the long jump, shot put, high jump and 400-meters that same day. Day two of the decathlon begins at 2:00 a.m. (MT) with the 110-meter hurdles, followed by the discus throw, pole vault, javelin throw and 1500-meters.

Assistant track and field coach Jeff Petersmeyer is also in London accompanying Felix in his 10-event competition as a Team Grenada Coach.

FOLLOW OUR FORMER BRONCOS:
Important Links

USA Track and Field Team 
Team USA
Team Grenada 
London 2012 Olympic Games
Official Meet Results provided by the IAAF

Twitter
Jarred Rome - @JarredRome
Kurt Felix - @K_decath23
Jeff Petersmeyer - @AccuPete
Boise State Track and Field - @BroncoSportsTF

Blogs (written by Coach Petersmeyer)
http://sportsbyte.sunderland.ac.uk/?author=165


ROME AND FELIX COMPETITION SCHEDULE:
Monday, August 6 (Jarred Rome)

3:00 a.m. (MT)/10:00 a.m. (British Summer Time) - Discus Qualifying Round

Tuesday, August 7 (Jarred Rome)
12:45 p.m. (MT)/7:45 p.m. (BST) - Discus Final

Wednesday, August 8 (Kurt Felix)
3:10 a.m. (MT)/10:10 a.m. (BST) - Decathlon 100-meters
4:10 a.m. (MT)/11:10 a.m. (BST) - Decathlon Long Jump
5:50 a.m. (MT)/12:50 p.m. (BST) - Decathlon Shot Put
11:00 a.m. (MT)/6:00 p.m. (BST) - Decathlon High Jump
2:30 p.m. (MT)/9:30 p.m. (BST) - Decathlon 400-meters

Thursday, August 9 (Kurt Felix)
2:00 a.m. (MT)/9:00 a.m. (BST) - Decathlon 110-meter Hurdles
2:55 a.m. (MT)/9:55 a.m. (BST) - Decathlon Discus Throw
5:55 a.m. (MT)/12:55 p.m. (BST) - Decathlon Pole Vault
11:30 a.m. (MT)/6:30 p.m. (BST) - Decathlon Javelin Throw
2:20 p.m. (MT)/9:20 p.m. (BST) - Decathlon 1500-meters

For a full Track and Field Schedule visit: http://usatf.org/Events-/-Calendar/2012/Olympic-Games/Schedule.aspx


» «