Eight Broncos Garner USTFCCCA Academic Honors
July 17, 2015

NEW ORLEANS -- The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the men and women who earned All-Academic honors for the 2014-15 track and field season on Friday, and eight Boise State athletes were recognized.

Karyna Armstrong, Mackenzie Flannigan, Marisa Howard, Courtney Hutchinson, Allison Jeffries, Tessa Murray and Jordan Ward were the recipients from the women's team, and David Elliott represented the men.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All­-Academic Track and Field Team, the student­-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met at least one of the following athletic standards:

1. For the indoor season, a student-­athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by TFRRS.org.

2. For the outdoor season, a student­-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).

The seven Broncos on the women's side ties for the second-most in the Mountain West with Colorado State. New Mexico garnered the highest total with 14.

The female Scholar Athletes of the Year were Emily Sisson of Providence, Sandi Morris of Arkansas, Colleen Quigley of Florida State and Keturah Orji of Georgia, and the male winners were Edward Cheserek of Oregon, Luca Wieland of Minnesota and Sam Mattis of Penn.

» «