Broncos Set for NCAA West Preliminaries
May 23, 2018

Meet Schedule | Start Lists / Heat Sheets | Meet Central

Watch Live (FloTrack - $) | Live Results

The Boise State track and field team will send 14 athletes – 12 women and two men – to the NCAA West Preliminary Championships in Sacramento, Calif., from May 24-26. The 14 Broncos will represent 17 entries over the course of the three-day meet on the campus of Sacramento State.

WATCH LIVE: The meet will be streamed live on FloTrack. Fans must first purchase a FloPRO account to view the meet.

LIVE RESULTS: Live results will provided throughout the meet.

HOW THEY GOT HERE: Athletes who ranked among the top 48 in their respective events in the west region earned berths to the NCAA West Preliminary Championships. The best 24 relay times also advanced to the preliminaries. The same process was applied to the NCAA East Preliminary Championships (Tampa, Fla.).

HOW TO QUALIFY TO NATIONALS: Athletes with the top 12 times and marks along with the best 12 relay teams at both the East and West Preliminary Championships will qualify for the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore., slated for June 6-9.

Addison Dehaven (5,000m)
Yusuke Uchikoshi (3,000m Steeplechase)

Alexis Fuller (1,500m)
Sadi Henderson (800m)
Minttu Hukka (3,000m Steeplechase)
Kyra Lopez (3,000m Steeplechase)
Grace McConnochie (10,000m)
Anna McDonald (3,000m Steeplechase)
Clare O’Brien (5,000m and 10,000m)
Allie Ostrander (3,000m Steeplechase and 5,000m)
Amy Pfaff (800m)
Kristie Schoffield (800m)
Gracie Tostenson (5,000m and 10,000m)
Emily Venters (5,000m)

BOISE STATE SCHEDULE (All times are Pacific)
6 p.m. | Women’s 1,500m – First Round (Alexis Fuller)
8:35 p.m. | Women’s 800m – First Round (Sadi Henderson, Kristie Schoffield and Amy Pfaff)
9:40 p.m. | Women’s 10,000m – Semifinal (Grace McConnochie, Clare O’Brien and Gracie Tostenson)

6:45 p.m. | Women’s 800m – Quarterfinal (TBD – Sadi Henderson, Kristie Schoffield and Amy Pfaff)
8:20 p.m. | Men’s 3,000m Steeplechase – Quarterfinal (Yusuke Uchikoshi)
9 p.m. | Women’s 3,000m Steeplechase – Quarterfinal (Anna McDonald, Allie Ostrander, Kyra Lopez and Minttu Hukka)

6:45 p.m. | Women’s 1,500m – Quarterfinal (TBD – Alexis Fuller)
8:05 p.m. | Men’s 5,000m – Semifinal (Addison Dehaven)
8:45 p.m. | Women’s 5,000m – Semifinal (Allie Ostrander, Gracie Tostenson, Clare O’Brien and Emily Venters)

TOP-SEEDED STEEPLERS: Both Allie Ostrander and Yusuke Uchikoshi enter the week with the fastest qualifying times in the 3,000m steeplechase. Ostrander ran a 9:38.57 and Uchikoshi clocked an 8:38.32 at the Stanford Invitational in late March, resulting in victories for the two Broncos. The two times are also still the No. 1 times in the NCAA this season.

EXCEPTIONAL IN THE MIDDLE DISTANCE AND DISTANCE EVENTS: With all 15 of the Bronco entries on the women’s side in the middle distance (800m and 1,500m) and distance (3,000m Steeplechase, 5,000m and 10,000m) events, the Blue and Orange have more entries in the middle distance and distance events than any other team in the west region. Boise State is ahead of other traditional powers in the two event categories, such as Colorado (12 entries), Stanford (12 entries), BYU (11 entries) and Oregon (10 entries).

TOP-FIVE EVENT SQUAD RANKINGS: The Boise State women rank in the top five of the NCAA in four different events for the USTFCCCA Event Squad Rankings (average time/mark of top four competitors combined). The Broncos are No. 1 in the 3,000m steeplechase, No. 2 in the 5,000m, No. 3 in the 10,000m and No. 4 in the 1,500m.

Boise State and Colorado are the only two schools in the NCAA who have top-five ranked squads in the four events.

PERSPECTIVE ON BRONCO WOMEN ENTRIES: The 12 athletes and 15 total entries for the Boise State women’s team at the NCAA West Preliminary Championships are program records.

The Bronco women will be looking to send more athletes and entries to outdoor nationals than ever before, as the previous program records for outdoor nationals are three athletes (2017, 2015, 2014, 2007, 1997 and 1996) and four entries (2017, 2015, 2014 and 2007).


» «