Broncos Send Eight to NCAA West Preliminary Meet

► What's Happening - The Boise State track and field team will send eight student-athletes to compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Outdoor Track and Field West Preliminary Round in Eugene, Ore., May 26-28.

► Meet Specifics - The meet will be hosted by the University of Oregon at the historic Hayward Field, May 26 through 28. Field events will begin at 10:00 a.m. (Pacific Time) each day, while running events begin at 3:30 p.m. PT, 3:00 p.m. PT and 1:00 p.m. PT, Thursday through Saturday, respectively.

► Live Meet Results - Live meet results can be found at:

► Tickets - Tickets for the 2011 NCAA® West Preliminary Rounds are now available through the Oregon Athletic Ticket Office.

Additional information about Hayward Field and the seating chart are available online.  For any questions regarding tickets please call the Oregon Athletic Ticket office at 1-800-WEBFOOT. To purchase online, go to:

Ticket prices for a 3-day ticket package are:

Reserved Seating $ 35

Adult General Admission $ 25

Youth/Senior/Student GA $ 20

Single-day tickets :
Thursday, May 26

Reserved Seating $ 10

Adult General Admission $ 8

Youth/Senior/Student GA $ 6

Friday, May 27

Reserved Seating $ 20

Adult General Admission $ 15

Youth/Senior/Student GA $ 12

Saturday, May 28

Reserved Seating $ 20

Adult General Admission $ 15
Youth/Senior/Student GA $ 12

► Meet Information - For complete meet information, go to:

The NCAA Preliminary Round is split to two locations, the west round will be hosted by the University of Oregon in Eugene, Ore., while the east round will be hosted by Indiana University in Bloomington, Ind. To qualify for the meet, athletes must sit in the top-48 of either their east or west region lists in their respective events to advance to the meet. Some athletes may qualify if they are near the top-48 and a participant ahead of them on the list does not declare or withdraws.

Those who qualify from the east and west preliminary rounds will advance to the 2011 NCAA National Championship meet will be held at Drake Stadium on the campus of Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, June 8-11.

► How to Advance - Since the NCAA Preliminary Round is split between east and west locations, each meet will hold a first round and second round competition advancing only 12 athletes to the NCAA National Meet in Des Moines, Iowa. Therefore, 24 athletes combined from each preliminary round meet will meet at Drake University to compete in two additional rounds for the NCAA National Champion title.  

► NCAA National Championships Central - To follow results from each of the NCAA Division I East and West Preliminary Round meets, go to:

Live meet schedule, participant manuals, webcasts and results can be found at this site.

► Bronco Review - Looking back to the 2010 season, the NCAA instilled the first season of the NCAA Division I East/West Preliminary Rounds (prior to 2010 it was the NCAA Regionals). The 2010 West Preliminary Round was held in Austin, Texas, at the University of Texas. There Pontus Thomee came out as the meet champion in the javelin throw, going on to finish as the NCAA Division I National Runner-up, as well as an All-American. Alex Nelson, Trevor Kraychir, Rolando Trammel, Sawyer Bosch and Eetu Viitala all also competed at the 2010 meet, none advancing to the NCAA National Championship meet. Chase Sexton was a qualifier for the 2010 meet, but did not compete.

► 2011 Qualifying Broncos - Eight Broncos, including seven men and one woman, have qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary Round. Rolando Trammel is the only Bronco to qualify in two events, making the 110-meter and 400-meter hurdles lists. Raquel Jones is the only female, qualifying in the long jump. Also qualifying are: Sawyer Bosch (steeplechase), Eetu Viitala (long jump), Chase Sexton (discus), Pontus Thomee (javelin), and Alex Nelson and Trevor Kraychir (hammer throw).

This is the first trip to an NCAA meet for Jones.

Below are the eight Broncos' events, west preliminary round ranking and start times, in order of their competition schedule (all times PACIFIC):
(**) - denotes a qualifying time is needed to reach this round

Eetu Viitala
May 26 - Long Jump - #15 - 12:00 p.m.

Pontus Thomee
May 26 - Javelin - #20 - 3:30 p.m.

Racquel Jones
May 26 - Long Jump - #32 - 4:00 p.m.

Rolando Trammel
May 26 - 400-meter hurdles - First Round - #36 - 3:55 p.m.
May 27 - 110-meter hurdles - First Round - #43 - 3:25 p.m.
May 27 - 400-meter hurdles - Quarterfinal (**) - 5:35 p.m.
May 28 - 110-meter hurdles - Quarterfinal (**) - 2:20 p.m.

Alex Nelson
May 27 - Hammer - #11 - 3:30 p.m.

Trevor Kraychir
May 27 - Hammer - #21 - 3:30 p.m.

Sawyer Bosch
May 27 - 3000-meter steeplechase - Quarterfinal - #12 - 7:20 p.m.

Chase Sexton
May 28 - Discus - #29 - 3:30 p.m.

» «