Broncos Qualify 14 to West Preliminaries
May 17, 2018

NCAA West Preliminary Championship Qualifiers – Women | NCAA West Preliminary Championship Qualifiers – Men

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA announced the individuals who qualified for the NCAA West Preliminary Championships Thursday, and Boise State will send a total of 14 athletes. The west preliminary will take place in Sacramento, Calif., from May 24-26.

The women’s team qualified a program record 12 athletes that represent 15 total entries. Allie Ostrander will attempt the same double as last season, competing in both the 3,000m steeplechase and 5,000m. Clare O’Brien and Gracie Tostenson will both double in the 5,000m and 10,000m.

The other women to qualify include Alexis Fuller (1,500m), Sadi Henderson (800m), Minttu Hukka (3,000m Steeplechase), Kyra Lopez (3,000m Steeplechase), Grace McConnochie (10,000m), Anna McDonald (3,000m Steeplechase), Amy Pfaff (800m), Kristie Schoffield (800m) and Emily Venters (5,000m).

Seven of the 12 Bronco women have had previous experience at a previous west preliminary while Lopez, Pfaff, Schoffield, Tostenson and Venters will be making their debuts.

The previous high for the most Boise State athletes on the women’s side to qualify for the NCAA West Preliminary Championships was 10, which happened in 2013 and 2007.

The men will be represented by Addison Dehaven (5,000m) and Yusuke Uchikoshi (3,000m Steeplechase). Both Boise State men competed at the west preliminary last season.

Ostrander and Uchikoshi enter the preliminary with the fastest times in the 3,000m steeplechase. All of the seedings are listed below.

For more information on the schedule for the NCAA West Preliminary Championships, click HERE.

32. Addison Dehaven (5,000m)
1. Yusuke Uchikoshi (3,000m Steeplechase)

3. Alexis Fuller (1,500m)
8. Sadi Henderson (800m)
16. Minttu Hukka (3,000m Steeplechase)
44. Kyra Lopez (3,000m Steeplechase)
31. Grace McConnochie (10,000m)
14. Anna McDonald (3,000m Steeplechase)
14. and 23. Clare O’Brien (5,000m and 10,000m)
1. and 11. Allie Ostrander (3,000m Steeplechase and 5,000m)
35. Amy Pfaff (800m)
18. Kristie Schoffield (800m)
19. and 30. Gracie Tostenson (5,000m and 10,000m)
15. Emily Venters (5,000m)

» «