Men Second, Women Fifth at MW Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Boise State track and field team picked up three titles and nine all-conference honors on Saturday (May 12) in the final day of the 2012 Mountain West Outdoor Track and Field Championships held at Air Force's Cadet Track and Field Complex.

Kurt Felix swept the men's awards, earning the MW Men's High Point Performer and Men's Outstanding Performance Award.

Felix, Manoah Wesson and Emma Bates picked up individual titles on Saturday, leading the men to a second-place finish in the team standings and the women to a fifth-place finish.

Boise State's men collected 159-points in the four-day meet, but it wasn't enough to hold off host Air Force who won the men's title with 189.50-points. The Bronco women earned fifth-place in the team race with 83-points, while TCU won the women's title with 147-points.

Felix earned his second title of the meet, winning the javelin and picking up his second all-conference honor. His mark of 207'-3" was a four-foot win over second-place. Teammate Austin Hamilton picked up fifth-place honors with his throw of 189'-8".

Wesson captured the 400-meter title with a tight lean at the end of the race. Wesson clocked a 47.56-second time, winning by .05-seconds and collecting all-conference honors.  Jeff Daw earned a fifth-place finish in the race, running 48.48-seconds.

Bates picked up the only win for the Bronco women, clocking a time of 17:08.36 to win the 5000-meters. She picked up all-conference honors and notched a stadium record in the process.

Wesson joined Eric Capelle, Rolando Trammel and Bret Scheve for the men's 4x100-meter relay which placed fifth in 41.14-seconds. Wesson and Daw joined with Dusty Klein and Paul Robertson to place third in the 4x400-meter relay (3:13.31) and earn all-conference honors.

Capelle also earned a seventh-place finish in the 100-meters after clocking a 10.94-second race, while teammate Edidiong Essien placed eighth in the race.

Trammel went on to collect a handful of points for Boise State, placing fifth in the triple jump (48'-4"), fifth in the 110-meter hurdles (14.21-seconds) and eighth in the 400-meter hurdles, finishing for the team point after a tough fall at the start of the race. Scheve also raced in the long hurdles, placing fifth in 53.83-seconds.

Dusty Klein and Matthew Moyer collected another nine points in the 800-meters, placing in fourth (1:53.10) and fifth (1:54.08), respectively.

Justin Malnes had an outstanding meet, setting personal-best marks in the 110-meter hurdles in both the prelims and finals. Saturday he clocked a time of 14.13-seconds in the finals, placing second and earning all-conference honors.

Also collecting runner-up honors, Will Lohman placed second in the shot put with a mark of 55'-5.75", good for all-conference honors. Chase Sexton threw 53'-5.75" to place eighth in the event.

The men's 1500-meters collected five points for the Broncos with Drew O'donoghue-McDonald placing fifth in a time of 3:58.75. Charlie Petrie gave a gallant effort in the race, falling with 400-meters to go, recovering, and then fighting for the eighth-place spot (4:03.44) to pick up one point for the team.

Allan Schroeder added six points in the 5000-meters, collecting his second all-conference honor of the meet with a third-place finish. Schroeder clocked a time of 15:01.98 in the race.

Chris Manuele wrapped up the field events for the Broncos, clearing a season-best 16'-0.75" to tie for fifth in the pole vault.

The Bronco women had a pair of strong distance races on Saturday, including Bates' win in the 5000-meters. In the 1500-meters, Rici Morill scored five points after her fourth-place finish in a time of 4:38.39.

The Boise State women's 4x100-meter relay, made up of Racquel Jones, Destiny Gammage, Taryn Campos and Cyntrail Pierce, clocked a time of 46.05-seconds to place third and earn all-conference honors. Campos and Pierce joined Mackenzie Flannigan and Emily Funkhouser in the 4x400-meter relay, crossing the finish in 3:48.33, good for sixth-place.

Campos went on to place fifth in the 200-meters (24.72) and in the 400-meters (55.79), while Gammage placed fifth in the 100-meters (11.84) and sixth in the 200-meters (24.78).

In the field events, Deb Johnson collected all-conference honors and a career-best mark in the triple jump. She had a jump of 41'-0.50" to place third in the event.

Sasa Kampic and Kristen Sowers scored in the javelin, placing fourth (142'-10") and eighth (127'-0"), respectively.

The Broncos conclude their season as a team but will have a handful of athletes in the NCAA First Round in Austin, Texas, May 24-26. Qualifiers for the NCAA First Round will be announced later next week.

2012 Mountain West Champions
Kurt Felix - Decathlon, Javelin
Manoah Wesson - 400-meters
Emma Bates - 5000-meters

MW All-Conference Honorees

Jeff Daw - 4x400-meter relay
Kurt Felix - Decathlon, Javelin
Dusty Klein - 4x400-meter relay
Will Lohman - Shot Put
Justin Malnes - 110-meter hurdles
Paul Robertson - 4x400-meter relay
Allan Schroeder - 3000-meter steeplechase, 5000-meters
Chase Sexton - Discus
Eetu Viitala - Long Jump
Manoah Wesson - 400-meters, 4x400-meter relay

Emma Bates - 5000-meters
Taryn Campos - 4x100-meter relay
Destiny Gammage - 4x100-meter relay
Debra Johnson - Triple Jump
Racquel Jones - 4x100-meter relay
Cyntrail Pierce - 4x100-meter relay
Marissa VanderMalle - 3000-meter steeplechase

Final Men's Team Scores
1. Air Force, 189.50 pts.
2. Boise State, 159 pts.
3. New Mexico, 140 pts.
4. TCU, 127 pts.
5. Colorado State, 100.50 pts.
6. Wyoming, 96 pts.

Final Women's Team Scores
1. TCU, 147 pts.
2. Colorado State, 135 pts.
3. UNLV, 130 pts.
4. San Diego State, 103.50 pts.
5. Boise State, 83 pts.
6. Air Force, 79 pts.
7. New Mexico, 76.50 pts.
8. Wyoming, 63 pts.

Mountain West Championship Awards
Women's High Point Performer: Allison Reaser, San Diego State
Men's High Point Performer: Kurt Felix, Boise State
Women's Outstanding Performance: Amanda Bingson, UNLV
Men's Outstanding Performance: Kurt Felix, Boise State
Women's Coach of the Year: Darryl Anderson, TCU
Men's Coach of the Year: Ralph Lindeman, Air Force

» «