Broncos Open Outdoor Season at ASU Invitational

► What's Happening - The Boise State track and field team will head south for the Spring Break week to open their 2010 Outdoor Track and Field Season in Tempe, Ariz. The Broncos will take part in the 2010 Arizona State Team Invitational held March 26-27 at the Joe Selleh Track at Sun Angel Stadium. The meet will mainly be contested on Sat., Mar. 27, with only the men's and women's hammer throws taking place on Fri., Mar. 26.

► Meet Specifics - This will be the first of eight regular season outdoor meets on the Broncos 2010 schedule. The hammer throw will be held at 1 p.m. on Fri., Mar. 26, while Saturday's field events will begin at 10 a.m. and the running events slated for a 5 p.m. start. The final event of the day, the men's 4x400-meter relay, is slated for an 8:40 p.m. start.

► Participating Teams - Teams competing in the meet include: Arizona (M), Arizona State, Boise State, Colorado (M), Cornell (W), Duke, Georgia, Grand Canyon, Kansas State, Northern Arizona, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Purdue, Southern Utah, Texas A&M, UC Riverside, Weber State, Western State (M) and Wyoming.

► National Rankings - The USATFCCCA will release its first 2010 outdoor rankings on Tuesday, March 30.

► About the Broncos - After a successful 2009-2010 indoor season, the Broncos welcome back a handful of key athletes. The men's team has only four seniors Zacharias Arnos (jumps) who just recently earned All-American status in the men's triple jump after placing eighth at the 2010 NCAA Indoor Championships, Marlon Douglas (sprints), Cameron Lockard (distance) and Pontus Thomee (throws) who only competes outdoors in the javelin. Thomee returns as a 2008 and 2009 WAC Champion in the javelin as well as an All-American event. Key athletes from the indoor season include: Sawyer Bosch (Jr., distance), Eric Capelle (So., sprints), Jeff Daw (Fr., sprints), Kurt Felix (Jr., multis), Jeff  Howard (Fr., distance), Dusty Klein (So., middle distance), Trevor Kraychir (So., throws), Matthew Moyer (So., middle distance), Alex Nelson (So., throws), Paul Robertson (Fr., sprints), Daniel Thompson (So., jumps), and Eetu Vitala (So., jumps).

On the women's side Eleni Kafourou (Sr., jumps) joins the team after only having outdoor eligibility remaining this season. Kafourou was the 2009 NCAA National Indoor Long Jump Champion and will look to continue her success in that event. Joining Kafourou as the only seniors on the team, Annelise Bertleson (Sr., jumps) will be joined by Megan Olivetti (Sr., hurdles) and Paige Olivetti (Sr., sprints) who also only have outdoor eligibility remaining. Other key returners from the indoor season include: Taryn Campos (Fr., sprints), BreAnna Craig (Jr., pole vault), Monisha Davis (sprints), Piper Delaney (Fr., distance), Heidi Dorling (So., jumps), Destiny Gammage (Fr., sprints), Lacy Hopkins (So., sprints/hurdles), Racquel Jones (Fr., sprints), Sasa Kampic (Jr., javelin), Marjani Maldonao (Fr., sprints/hurdles), Paige Orcutt (So., middle distance) and Mele Vaisima (Jr., throws).

» «