Bronco Men Place Second, Women Seventh at WAC Indoor Track and Field Championships

NAMPA, Idaho - The 2010 Western Athletic Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships came to an end Saturday afternoon with the Boise State men earning a second-place team finish and the women earning a seventh-place finish. The three day meet, held at the Jacksons Track at the Idaho Center Feb. 25-27, was won by Louisiana Tech's women's team and Utah State's men's team.

Although the Bronco men were not able to defend their WAC title from 2009 they accumulated many accomplishments over the weekend, including five individual champion titles, 13 All-WAC First Team honorees and 20 All-WAC Second Team honorees. Senior Zacharias Arnos was named the WAC Men's Field Performer of the Year while freshman Jeff Howard was named WAC Freshman of the Year. Junior multi-event athlete Kurt Felix was named WAC Men's High Point Performer of the Year.

On the women's side Mele Vaisima earned the only championship title, but led a group of four All-WAC First Team honorees and four All-WAC Second Team honorees.

Men's WAC Individual Event Champions:
Adding to the men's event wins by Arnos (long jump), Felix (heptathlon) and Trevor Kraychir (weight throw) that were earned on Friday, the Broncos earned two additional event titles on Saturday. Arnos swept the horizontal jumps adding the title of triple jump champion to his list of accomplishments. Showing why he was named Freshman of the Year, Howard picked up the second title for the Broncos on Saturday, winning the 3000-meter run in thrilling victory, out-leaning Utah State's Daniel Howell to win by .007-seconds.

Arnos earned a mark of 52-feet, 8-inches for a season-best in the triple jump and remained undefeated in the long jump and triple jump this season after his win in the triple jump Saturday. Howard clocked a career-best of 8-minutes, 23.40-seconds to improve by over 10-seconds in the event.

Also earning All-WAC First Team honors on Saturday:
Jeff Daw captured a third-place finish in the 400-meter dash with a time of 48.74-seconds. Rolando Trammel covered a distance of 47-feet, 8.50-inches for a career-best mark and a second-place finish in the triple jump while Felix earned a mark of 46-feet, 5.50-inches to place third in his first triple jump competition this season.

Vaisima Captures Win, NCAA Provisional Mark:
Mele Vaisima's win in the weight throw was recorded with a mark of 62-feet, 1.25-inches, an 18-inch season-best. With the throw, which converts to 18.93-meters, Vaisima surpassed the NCAA Provisional qualifying mark of 18.75-meters, giving her a chance to possibly compete at the NCAA Indoor Championships.

Also earning All-WAC First Team honors on Saturday:
Pole vaulters Heidi Dorling and BreAnna Craig teamed to earn the Bronco women 14 team points after finishing second and third, respectively, in the vault. The pair both cleared 12-feet, 7.50-inches, however, Dorling cleared the height with less misses, giving her the second-place finish. The height is a season-best for both Bronco women.

The 2010 Boise State indoor track and field season has finished as far as team competition goes, but a handful of athletes will look toward competing as individual athletes representing Boise State at the 2010 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships, Mar. 12-13, in Fayetteville, Ark. Final regular season rankings will be released this coming week, helping to determine which athletes will make the cut to compete at the national level.

Men's Team Scores: 1. Utah State, 154; 2. Boise State, 144.50; 3. Idaho, 121.50; 4. La Tech 101

Women's Team Scores: 1. La Tech, 175; 2. Utah State, 104.50; 3. Idaho, 102; 4. New Mexico State, 63; 5. Hawaii, 61.50; 6. Nevada, 55.50; 7. Boise State, 51; 8. Fresno State, 49.50.

WAC Awards:

Team Championship: Louisiana Tech
Freshman of the Year: Quanisha Sales, Louisiana Tech
Women's Track Performer of the Year: Kim Quinn, Utah State
Women's Field Performer of the Year: Mykael Bothum, Idaho
Women's High Point Performer of the Year: Kim Quinn, Utah State, 20 points
Women's Coach of the Year: Gary Stanley, Louisiana Tech

Team Championship: Utah State
Freshman of the Year: Jeff Howard, Boise State
Men's Track Performer of the Year: Albert Fullwood, Louisiana Tech
Men's Field Performer of the Year: Zacharias Arnos, Boise State
Men's High Point Performer of the Year: Kurt Felix, Boise State, 24.50 points

Men's Coach of the Year: Gregg Gensel, Utah State

Below are All-WAC First and Second Team Honorees for Boise State:
All-WAC Men's First Team
Jeff Daw - 400-meter dash
Jeff Howard - 3000-meter run (Champion), 5000-meter run
Zacharias Arnos - Long Jump (Champion), Triple Jump (Champion)
Kurt Felix - Heptathlon (Champion), Long Jump, Triple Jump
Eetu Viitaala - Long Jump
Rolando Trammel - Triple Jump
Chase Sexton - Shot Put
Trevor Kraychir - Weight Throw (Champion)
Alex Nelson - Weight Throw

All-WAC Men's Second Team:
Eric Capelle - 60-meter dash, Long Jump
Paul Robertson - 200-meter dash, 400-meter dash, 4x400 relay
Dusty Klein - 400-meter dash, 4x400 relay
Michael Walrath - 800-meter run
Kevin Higgs - Mile, Distance Medley relay
Sawyer Bosch - 5000-meter run
Marlon Douglas - 4x400 relay
Jeff Daw - 4x400 relay
Rolando Trammel - Distance medley relay, Long Jump
Quinten Hennekam - Distance medley relay
Austin Edwards - Distance medley relay
Kurt Felix - High Jump
Daniel Thompson - Pole Vault
Kevin Rosaaen - 3000-meter run

All-WAC First Team Women
Heidi Dorling - Pole Vault
BreAnna Craig - Pole Vault
Racquel Jones - Long Jump
Mele Vaisima - Weight Throw (Champion)

All-WAC Second Team Women
Destiny Gammage - 200-meter dash
Paige Orcutt - 800-meter run
Ann Noyes - Triple Jump
Alyssa Osai - Weight Throw

» «