Broncos Send Record Number to NCAAs
Feb. 27, 2018

NCAA Release

The Boise State track and field teams made history Tuesday, as the field for the 2018 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships was announced. The Broncos qualified three athletes in individual races, as well as one relay team for a total of six athletes, the most athletes and tied for most events Boise State has ever qualified for an indoor national championship.

Allie Ostrander (3,000m), Clare O’Brien (5,000m), Sadi Henderson (800m) qualified as individuals, while the women’s distance medley relay also qualified with the nation’s leading time. The top 16 times in each individual qualify for the national championship. Ostrander owns the 10th-fastest time in the 3,000m, O’Brien is the seventh-fastest for the 5,000m, while Henderson is ranked fifth in the 800m.

Both Henderson and Ostrander will also run legs on Boise State’s distance medley relay.

The distance medley relay team also includes Chelsea Walker and Alexis Fuller, as well as Amy Pfaff as an alternate. This is the first time Boise State has qualified a distance medley team, a women's relay team, or a male or female indoor relay to nationals, and only the second time in school history a relay will go to the national championships. The 440-yard relay took 20th at the 1975 Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

This will be the second appearance at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships for Henderson and Ostrander, while this will be the first trip for Fuller, O’Brien, Pfaff and Walker.

This is the most athletes Boise State has qualified for an indoor national championship on the women’s side, eclipsing a mark of three qualifiers for the 1996 indoor championships. The six total athletes eclipses the combined four that Boise State sent to the 2004 and 2008 indoor championships.

The 2004 team sent Ray Adrill (200m), Forest Braden (3000m), Kendrick Johnson (triple jump) and Abby Elsberry (weight throw). In 2008, the Broncos sent four athletes in six events: Eleni Kafourou (long jump and triple jump), Savva Diakonikolas (long jump), Ryan Grinnell (high jump and triple jump), and Simon Wardhaugh (weight throw).

The NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships will be held in College Station, Texas, at the Gilliam Indoor Stadium on the campus of Texas A&M, March 9-10. The trials for the 800m, and the finals for the 5,000m and distance medley relay will be contested on Friday, while the finals for the 800m and 3,000m will be held Saturday.


Women's 800m | 5. Sadi Henderson- 2:03.26
Women's 3000m | 10. Allie Ostrander- 8:59.98
Women's 5000m | 7. Clare O’Brien- 15:42.60
Women's Distance Medley Relay | 1. Boise State- 10:55.32

» «