Bates, Elliott and Murray Advance to Nationals
May 30, 2015

West Prelims Day Three Results 

AUSTIN, Texas--
The final day of events at the 2015 NCAA West Preliminary Championships saw three Broncos advance to NCAA National Championships, as David Elliott (1,500m), Emma Bates and Tessa Murray (5,000m) qualified through to Eugene, Ore.

David Elliott grabbed the fifth Bronco ticket and first of the day to the NCAA National Championships, doing so in the 1,500m run. The Bellingham, Wash., native raced to a second-place finish in the second heat, automatically qualifying to his first appearance at NCAA Nationals. He ran a time of 3:42.12 to finish second overall in the West Preliminary Championship.

Emma Bates and Tessa Murray punched the fifth and sixth tickets to NCAA Nationals, both qualifying on Saturday in the 5,000m run. Bates also automatically qualified, racing to both a third-place heat and overall finish in 15:52.74. Having qualified in the 10,000m two nights prior, she will compete in the 10,000m and 5,000m for the second-straight year.

Coming into the West Preliminaries at No. 35 in the region, Tessa Murray obliterated her personal best by 18 seconds to place sixth in heat two in 16:02.04. She used a spectacular final lap to overtake the then sixth-place runner to grab her personal best. Although she placed sixth in her heat, Murray's time was good for sixth overall and qualified to contend at NCAA National Championships.

Mackenzie Flannigan raced in the third heat of the women's 200m. She raced to a 13th-place finish in a time of 23.44. Michael Vennard was the final Bronco racer of the West Preliminary Championships, competing in the men's 5,000m. Vennard placed 17th in his heat and 32nd overall in 14:38.73 in his first appearance at an NCAA meet.

The 2015 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships will run June 10-13 at the University of Oregon in Eugene, Ore. Defending national champion Emma Bates will attempt to uphold her 10,000m title and will race in the 5,000m as well. Also, 2014 NCAA 3000m steeplechase runner-up Marisa Howard will make her second-straight appearance. Joining the two this year include Jordin Andrade (400 hurdles), David Elliott (1,500m) and Tessa Murray (5,000m).

» «