Howard Takes Fifth in 3,000m Steeplechase, Qualifies for Nationals
Back-to-back nationals' 3,000m steeplchase appearances for Marisa Howard

May 30, 2014

Friday's Results Get Acrobat Reader

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. - Marisa Howard placed fifth overall in the 3,000m steeplechase and earned a trip to Eugene, Ore., for the NCAA National Championships. Howard will join Emma Bates as the second Bronco of the weekend to place in the top-12 of their respective events and advance to the final level of competition.

With the top-three competitors in each of the three heats automatically qualifying to nationals in the 3,000m steeplechase, Howard left no doubt and placed second in her heat with a 10:07.57. This will be Howard’s second trip to nationals after she took tenth in the 3,000m steeplechase at last year’s West Preliminary. Howard reset her school record earlier this year with a 10:00.79 at the Payton Jordan Invitational on May 5.

Matt Post took 15th in the hammer throw Friday morning when he hurled a 199-6 (60.80m). Post threw a 197-4 (60.15m) in his third throw to give him the boost he needed to qualify for the finals. With three additional throws, Post improved on his mark in his sixth and final throw, but fell short of qualifying for nationals.

Jasmyn Jewett bounded her way to a 39-9.75 (12.13m) and took 28th in the triple jump. Jewett fouled on her first two attempts before she recorded a legal jump in her last attempt.

The men’s 3,000m steeplechase featured Zach Wiles and Allan Schroeder in the second-to-last event of the evening. Wiles took 15th and tied his second-best time of the year with an 8:50.46. Wiles also had the second-best time of any MW athlete in the race, finishing just behind New Mexico’s Elmar Engholm (8:50.26). Schroeder, the Mead, Wash. native, placed 26th with a (9:02.61).

Hayli Bozarth begins the final push for the Broncos tomorrow morning when she throws the hammer at 10 a.m. (CT). Jordan Ward will compete in the high jump at 6 p.m., David Elliott will compete in the 5,000m at 8:05 p.m. and Tessa Murray and Emma Bates will run the women’s 5,000m at 8:45 p.m.

» «