Ostrander Shatters Mountain West Record
Jan. 30, 2016

Day One Results Get Acrobat Reader

SEATTLE – Freshman Allie Ostrander carried over her dominance from the cross country season onto the track today in her season-opening indoor meet, clocking a 15:21.85 in the 5,000m at the UW Invitational at the Dempsey Indoor to set a new school and Mountain West record. Ostrander shattered the two previous records that were both held by former Bronco Emma Bates (15:50.78).

With the Dempsey Indoor having an oversized 307-meter track, her time does not qualify for the official all-time collegiate performance list, but on the oversized track list her 15:21.85 ranks as the third-fastest time in collegiate history. If her time would have been on a normal indoor track, she would have moved into seventh place on the all-time collegiate list in the indoor 5,000m.

Her time is also below the 2016 United States Olympic Trials qualifying 5,000m time of 15:25.00, making her eligible to compete in the 5,000m U.S. Olympic Trials later this year in July. And as to be expected, Ostrander’s time is currently the fastest collegiate 5,000m of the year so far.

Ostrander only took second, however, as former Olympian Kim Conley set a meet record with her time of 15:09.31 to win the race handily.

Minttu Hukka also ran a spectacular race herself, recording a 16:09.36 for fifth place in a stacked field. A huge personal record for the sophomore, she now owns the seventh-fastest collegiate 5,000m time in the country. Brenna Peloquin was right behind Hukka, taking eighth place with a time of 16:11.90. Her time sits at No. 10 so far this year. If the indoor regular season were to end today, all three Broncos would qualify to nationals with their existing marks.

Keegan McCormick was the lone men’s competitor of the evening for Boise State, as he took 10th in the section two 5,000m race with a time of 15:04.08 – a personal best.

The rest of the mid-distance and distance athletes will compete tomorrow in day of two of the UW Invitational, beginning with Jeff Lautenslager in the men’s mile at 12:10 p.m. (PT).

» «